SOUTH CAROLINA BRANCH
by Helen T. Hillhouse &
Published by the authors 1959
TABLE OF CONTENTS
(1)Origins of the
(2.) Lineage Chart
(3.) Key to Biographical Sketches
(4.) Biographical Sketches
(5.) Family Tree (Missing)
1) ORIGINS OF THE
The Hillhouses, according to the best
evidence, originated in the County of Ayr (Ayrshire) which is
located on the southwest coast of Scotland below Glasgow. The
earliest of the name to come to America (founders of the New
England branch in 1719-20, and the South Carolina branch about
1744) were Scotch-Irish from County Derry, Northern Ireland.
But the so-called Scotch-Irish were in reality Scots whose forebears
had emigrated from Scotland into the northern counties of Ireland
where they, with marked success, maintained their religious and
cultural identity. The Hillhouses left Ayrshire for Derry sometime
after 1638 during the disputes of the Presbyterian Covenanters
with Charles I and his pressures for conformity.
An early reference to the name appears
in a document regarding the appointment of a priest or clerk
for the Parish of Kilmarnock in 1547 which lists the heads of
families and contains the entry "Hillhouss 3". There
is a "Hillhouse" place name and postal station in Ayrshire,
three miles northeast of Troon, and after several centuries the
name and strain persist in the shire. For years Hillhouses have
resided at Ayr, Denny, Busby, Schaw Farm near Stair, Hurlford,
Dundonald and Kilmarnock. There is also a Hillhouse breed of
Ayrshire cattle, made world-famous by Mr. James Howie, a noted
To James Hillhouse, Solicitor of Ayre,
we are indebted for much of the data on the Ayrshire origins.
He died on September 14, 1938, but further information has been
supplied by Muriel M. H. Hillhouse, his daughter, also a solicitor
and successor to her father's legal practice. This particular
family can trace back five generations to Adam Hillhouse who
about 1684 leased some 20 acres of land and a house in a village
called Fail beside the ruined Monastery of Fail. A headstone
still marks his grave in the Parish cemetery of nearby Tarbolton.
Ayr, the county seat, is a pleasant
old market town of about 40,000 population which has been a royal
burgh since 1236. It lies between the mouth of the River Ayr,
where the harbor is busy with the fishing fleet and the coastal
steamers, and the mouth of the River Doon which Robert Burns
made famous in song and poetry.
In neighboring Glasgow the Hillhouse
name is also found. A Kelly's Directory of 1944 contained eleven
entries. The best known bearer of the name there was Percy Archibald
Hillhouse, D. Sc., John Elder Professor of Naval Architecture,
University of Glasgow, author and a naval architect for a large
shipbuilding concern on the Clyde River, the Fairfield Shipbuilding
& Engineering Co., Ltd. In his younger days he had also been
for four years (1898-1904), a professor of naval architecture
at the Imperial University, Tokyo, Japan. His family came from
Busby, which is six miles south of Glasgow.
Other parts of the United Kingdom show
marks of the Hillhouse name, especially Leeds, Liverpool, Lond
and Bristol, but apparently this cannot be said any longer for
Northern Ireland. Directories in Leeds and Liverpool carry individuals,
as well as firms, with the name. There is an Altcar and Hillhouse
station in Lancastershire on the W. Lancastershire and Liverpool
Southport and Preston Junction Railway. Old Bond Street, London
has a men's hat shop, Herman, Hilhouse & Co., Ltd., a hatters,
which was originally the well-known shop "Hilhous the Hatter,"
established in the early 1700s.
In Bristol there was a shipbuilding
concern, Hillhouse and Company, established in 1765 by James
Martin Hillhouse, which later became Hillhouse and Hill. This
firm is still in business today at Bristol as Charles Hill and
Sons Ltd., and with a parent company, the Bristol City Line of
Steamships Ltd. When no young member was available to carry on
with the Hills, the Hillhouse family sold in 1845 its partnership
interest. The father of James Martin had built a fortune in privateering
ventures, and had taken a very active interest in city affairs.
In 1792 the father was Warden of the Merchant Venturers' Society,
and at one time was a city councilor and in 1755-56 the Sheriff
of Bristol. James Martin's grandfather had come to Bristol from
Northern Ireland. The grandfather was admitted into the liberties
of the city in 1704 "for he married, Hester, daughter of
John Hollister, a linen draper of that City and had taken Oath
of Obedience and paid his four shillings and sixpence."
He made his way up in the world, and as generally happened with
the richer men of the city, turned his attention to ship owning,
joining the famous Merchant Venturers' Society, the guild which
had already controlled Bristol shipping for well over a century.
He became head of the Guild in 1730 when he was made Master.
When he died in 1754 he left a fortune of , 30,000.
George Hillhouse, the last active partner
in Hillhouse and Hill, died in 1848. He also had taken an interest
in t he city's public affairs, having been Alderman and Mayor
at one time; also Sheriff and Chief Magistrate, as well as Master
of the Merchant Venturers' Society, like his father and great-grandfather
This Bristol family stemmed directly
from Abraham Hillhouse of Artikelly, County Derry, as is shown
in the Hillhouse lineage chart. The original James of Bristol
was the third son of Abraham.
It is probable that William Hillhouse,
Squire of Clifton, and his daughter, Elizabeth, who are listed
in Burke's Genealogical and Heraldric History of the Landed Gentry
Vol. IV (1838) pp. 167-68, were part of the Bristol family. William
married into the Hoods of Bardon Park. William Hillhouse, M.A.,
F.L.S., Professor of Botany at the University of Birmingham,
and author may also have been a member of this line.
The old family tree prepared by one
of the New England Hillhouses significantly contains a Bristol
branch as well as a London branch.
But here we must revert to Northern
Ireland. If Ayrshire was the origin of the family in Scotland,
County Derry in Irelands Ulster must be regarded as the second
seat of the family. Abraham Hillhouse of Artikelly and his wife,
Janet, are the earliest known ancestors of the London, Bristol,
New England and South Carolina branches. At the time of the struggle
between James II and William of Orange for control of Ireland,
he was one of the Protestant landholders in the north who took
refuge in 1689 within the walled city of Londonderry. Here he
and his wife shared the horrors and the heroism of that memorable
siege. And when, on July 30, 1689, King William's provision ships
relieved the city, he was one of the subscribers to a document
expressing to the Sovereign the humble thanks and gratitude of
the survivors. It reads in part:
. . . the humble address to
the most excellent majesty of William and Mary, King and Queen
of England, Scotland and Ireland, of Governors, Officers, Clergy
and other Gentlemen of Londonderry. We, the most dutiful and
loyal subscribers of this address out of our deep sense of our
late miserable estate and condition, do hereby return our due
acknowledgment to Almighty God and to your Sacred Majesty, and
under you to the indefatigable care of Major-General Kirk, for
an unexpected relief by sea, in spite of all the oppressions
of our bloody and implacable enemies . . .
The first signature was that of the
heroic governor, the Rev. George Walker. The name of Abraham
Hillhouse appears between those of Adam Downing and John Mulholland.
Abraham had three sons, Abraham, John
and James. Abraham, the eldest son, probably died before his
father because John inherited the estate. John and his wife,
Rachel, probably enlarged the fortified manor house of Free
Hall. This residence, at the foot of a mountain about two
miles from the village of Newton-Limavady on land adjacent to
Artikelly, commanded a file view of Lough Foyle and many miles
around. William Hillhouse of New Haven, CT visiting the old place
in 1789 recorded in his diary:
Went out on the Coleraine
road till we came to the narrow lane leading to the old mansion
house. It has been very large, with pavements, gates, walks,
gardens, etc. and had once been, as I was informed, a fortification,
but it is now very much in ruins, and a great part of the house
is fallen down. The garden had been laid out with mounds and
walks, and we visited a mound erected by Abraham James Hillhouse
upon the occasion of his father's giving an entertainment to
all the people of the county.
John and Rachel had six sons: Abraham,
James, William, John, Samuel and Charles. As the first-born,
Abraham inherited Free Hall; James studied divinity at the University
of Glasgow and was ordained by the Presbytery of Londonderry.
The diary of William of New Haven in 1789 recorded nothing as
to Samuel and Charles.
The origins of the name in America are
well documented. The Reverend James Hillhouse of Free Hall, the
second of the sons mentioned, emigrated to New England in 1719
or 1720. He married Mary Fitch, granddaughter of James Fitch,
the first minister of Norwich and they at Montville, Connecticut
became the founders of the New England branch of the family.
Their son, William, had a remarkable career as a New London County
Judge for 40 years, and as a member of the provincial, and later
state, legislature for 52 years. He and his wife, Sarah Griswold,
reared a family of eight, of whom the third child, James, was
the most distinguished. He became a Representative in Congress
and a United States Senator, and also served Yale College for
50 years as its Treasurer. Other members of this branch, on which
abundant records exist, include: James Abraham Hillhouse, the
poet and dramatist; David Hillhouse of Washington, Georgia, the
owner and editor of an early newspaper in Georgia; an Army Major
who laid out the city of Macon, Georgia, General Thomas Hillhouse,
Adjutant-General of the State of New York during the Civil War;
Thomas Griswold Hillhouse, the twentieth Comptroller of the State
of New York; Oliver Hillhouse Prince, United States Senator from
Georgia, an Assistant Secretary of the Treasury; and in this
generation, two university professors at the University of Minnesota
and Michigan State University, respectively. The family home
in New Haven was eventually bought by Yale University, and the
family library of some 20,000 volumes has become the Hillhouse
Collection in the Yale library. A high school and an avenue,
both with the Hillhouse name, are landmarks still in New Haven.
William of the Province of South Carolina
(St. Mark's and Providence Parish), who established the South
Carolina branch, was, it is believed, a son of Samuel (but possibly
Charles), and a great-grandson of Abraham of Artikelly. He was
born in County Derry, came to western Pennsylvania sometime before
1744, ultimately moved to the upper reaches of South Carolina
Province, and obtained in 1772 a land grant in St. Mark's and
Providence Parish for 300 acres. Two sons, both born in western
Pennsylvania, were Captains in the Revolutionary War (John and
William), and three grandsons became Presbyterian ministers:
Reverend William Dickey of Kentucky and Ohio, Reverend James
Hillhouse of South Carolina and Alabama, and the Reverend Joseph
of South Carolina.
So far we have been able to establish
very little concerning the sojourn of the Hillhouses in western
Pennsylvania. The records of Christ Church in Philadelphia show
that Mary Hillhouse was married on October 15, 1747 to John Reily.
She may have been William's sister. Marriage of a son and a daughter
with the Dickeys, and a son to Margaret Chambers, suggests that
William and his family probably lived in Paxtang, Donegal or
Derry Township in Lasater (later Dauphin) County, or in Cumberland
County. Descendants of Moses Dickey, and of the four Chambers
brothers who settled originally about 1720-1730 in the Fort Hunter
area north of Harrisburg, were in both counties. In the Old Paxtang
and Derry church records, the names - Dickey, Stevenson, and
Chambers - appear, all three being family names connected with
either William or his son John. Moses Dickey was a Justice of
the Peace. A Roland (or Rowland) Chambers was the first elder
of the Donegal Church, 1720-1733.
The tide of the Scotch-Irish immigration
into Pennsylvania was heavy between 1717 and 1741. The newcomers
landed at New Castle or Philadelphia and moved into the western
counties where good land was still available. From the earliest
settlements in Lancaster County, they pressed on across the Susquehannah,
Paxtang being the best fording place, and began their march through
the Cumberland Valley. According to one historian, all but about
fifty families out of an estimated 5000 inhabitants in the Valley
around 1750 were Scotch-Irish William Henry Egle has written:
About the year 1740 the influx of Scotch-Irish
was so great that family after family removed down the valley
to the Potomac, and beyond to Virginia and the Carolinas, and
this tide of emigration was one continued stream until the thunders
of the Revolution checked emigration to America.
An Ohio Branch of the family came to
America about 1799-1800. The founder of this branch was Hugh
Hillhouse who was born in Ayrshire, Scotland but moved to Londonderry,
Ireland. In the year 1798 he was condemned to be shot for his
part in the Rebellion, but being a Protestant and a Free Mason
his sentence was commuted to banishment to Australia. In the
passage the boat was in a storm and had to be put into a Virginia
harbor for repairs. The captain also a Free Mason allowed Hugh
and his family of five sons and two daughters to escape. A sixth
son, John, who was an excellent sailor, chose to stay with the
captain. He continued on to Australia and was lost to his American
Hugh settled in Virginia until after
the War of 1812. In 1816 the family emigrated to Ohio and settled
near Chillicothe. Later some of the family moved onto Indiana.
One grandson of the original Hugh, named Nathaniel Hillhouse,
was a Major in the Union Calvary during the Civil War; another,
Joseph N. Hillhouse of Columbus, Ohio served as a Union infantry
Others with the name Hillhouse have
come to both the United States and Canada from various parts
of the United Kingdom, but usually stemmed back to Ayrshire.
Laurens of the South Carolina branch years ago corresponded with
a Liggeris Hillhouse in Texas whose family emigrated from Northern
Ireland early in the 19th Century; there is also an Alabama family
that came directly from England.
Percy A. Hillhouse, the Glasgow naval
architect, wrote that he had two cousins - Will and his sister
Rose - who came to the States in the latter half of the 19th
Century and settled originally at Moline, Illinois, but later
moved to Los Angeles.
Laurens Hillhouse also corresponded
in 1924 with a Mrs. Robert Hillhouse of Montreal whose family
was from Ayrshire. A Saskatchewan Hillhouse wrote that his great-grandfather
and Robert Burns' father were neighbors
and close friends near Tarbolton (at Fail and Lochlee), and
when the elder Burns was buried, the coffin was carried between
two ponies, having been laced onto two poles, with each suspended
on the side of a pony from the saddle stirrups. According to
the same correspondent, most of the Canadian Hillhouses originated
Interestingly enough in rural Ayrshire,
the name is pronounced "Hillus," and this pronunciation
reappeared in this country in Arkansas. The predominant pronunciation,
however, is "Hill-house." The spelling has been corrupted
but little. In a few cases one "l", the "e",
or both, have been dropped.
A lineage chart (Chart 1) has been added
at this point to show the relationship between some of the components
of a widely scattered family. This chart combines elements embedded
in the notes of William Hillhouse, Esq. of New Haven when he
visited County Derry in 1789; a part of the old family tree in
possession of the New England branch but copied by Dr. John Peter
Hillhouse (South Carolina branch) in 1847, and a portion of the
chart on the Bristol (England) family which was published in
(3) Key to Biographical
William of the Province of South Carolina
Captain John Hillhouse
The Reverend James Hillhouse
Children of Captain John Hillhouse
The Reverend Joseph Hillhouse
The Reverend William Dickey
The Reverend John Simpson Wilson, DD
The Reverend Joseph Bienaime Hillhouse,
John Peter Hillhouse, MD
Elizabeth Gibert Hillhouse Bowden
William C. Hillhouse
Other Children of the Reverend Joseph
Richard Henry Hillhouse
Judge Jasper Newton Hillhouse
The Reverend James Steele Hillhouse,
William Laurens Hillhouse
The Reverend Joseph Bienaime Hillhouse,
Martha Ann Hillhouse Anderson
William Chambers Hillhouse
Mary Hillhouse Pratt
Estelle Love Hillhouse Slaughter
Lila Glasgow Irwin
Charles Wesley Hillhouse
John Henry Hillhouse
The Reverend Joseph Newton Hillhouse
Esther Love Hillhouse Sartorio
Lola Anderson Dennis
Virginia Anderson Page
Eloise Anderson Stuckle
Anne Anderson Braithwaite
Martha Ruth Hillhouse
William Charles Hillhouse
Albert Miller Hillhouse
Nell Hillhouse Baldwin
Katherine Roberta Hillhouse Goss
Roy McPhaul Hillhouse
(4.) Biographical Sketches
1. William of the Province of South
This progenitor of the South Carolina
branch (also known as the Southern branch) of the Hillhouse family,
was born in Derry, Ulster (Northern Ireland). He was a descendant
(a great-grandson it is believed) of Abraham Hillhouse, who in
1689, during the struggle between James II and William of Orange
for control of Ireland, was in the besieged city of Londonderry.
An old family tree in the possession of the members of the New
England branch indicates that William was a lineal descendant
The known birth date of one of William's
children supports the probable date of his birth as circa 1715,
or 1725 at the latest. This would suggest that William was a
nephew, rather than a brother, of the Reverend James Hillhouse
who came to America in 1719, or 1720, and who settled at what
is now Montville, Connecticut, establishing the New England branch.
William was in western Pennsylvania,
married and with children, prior to the French and Indian War
because records show that his son, John, was born in Pennsylvania
on may 15, 1744 and his third (or fourth) son, William, "about
The dates when the family began and
completed the migration from Pennsylvania to Upper South Carolina
are not known. Braddock's defeat in 1755 left the frontier area
of western Pennsylvania exposed to the Indians, so many Scotch-Irish
families began the trek down the valleys through western Virginia
and North Carolina, with ultimate settlement in the upper parts
of the province of South Carolina. The Hillhouses may have been
a part of this southward movement shortly after Braddock's defeat.
On the other hand, they may have moved some 15 years later. The
earliest known record in South Carolina of this William was a
land grant dated October 9, 1772 of 300 acres on Turkey Creek
(then Nathan's), a branch of Bullock's Creek, nine or ten miles
south of what is now York, SC. William was recited as being of
"the parish of St. Marks and Providence of South Carolina,"
and the land as lying in the "province of South Carolina
formerly North Carolina, Mecklenburg County, on the East side
of the Broad River on a branch of Bullock Creek called Nathan's."
The same year, on March 24, 1772, his daughter, Margaret, married
"in South Carolina" Robert Dickey who was also of Scotch-Irish
stock. So it can be at least stated with certainty that the family
came during or before 1772.
Family records show that William had
five children: John, James, William, Eli and Margaret. The exact
order of their birth is not known, although it would appear that
John was the oldest, and probably William was the third or fourth
At the opening of the Revolutionary
War William Senior was too old for military service. He continued
pioneer farming while his sons John and William were in the Army,
both Captains. When the British general, Cornwallis, campaigned
in this area of Upper South Carolina against Marion and Sumter,
the home of William was used, at least for a very brief period,
as Cornwallis' headquarters. The family, however, were at the
time refugees away from the path of the British.
Little more is known of this pioneer
settler. According to the research of Laurens Hillhouse, he was
a member of the Bullock's Creek Presbyterian Church, and was
probably buried there. William, it is believed died prior to
1790 because in the First Census of the United States he was
not listed among the heads of families. A family Bible once existed;
was last reported to be in possession of a descendant in North
Had William lived to see the works of
his immediate descendants, he could well have been proud of them.
Three grandsons were educated Presbyterian ministers, one of
whom attained prominence; and a great-grandson was the founder
of the First Presbyterian Church of Atlanta and a Moderator of
the General Assembly of the Presbyterian Church, US.
2. James Hillhouse, son of William
of the Province (probably the second son), was born in western
Pennsylvania; moved with his father to the upper part of South
Carolina Province. Married Mary "Polly" Dickey
(born April 11, 1753), a daughter of John and Martha (McNeely)
James and Mary Hillhouse were the parents
of eight children: William, John (married Bethiah Sharp), George
(married Elizabeth Dobbins), James, Robert, David, Sally and
James appeared in 1797 as one of the
attestants, with his brother Captain John, to the validity of
a 1772 land grant to their father, William of St. Mark's and
Providence Parish. A list of deeds in the courthouse at Anderson,
SC shows that he acquired in 1802 a tract of 302 acres on Big
Most of this family moved from South
Carolina to Tennessee and Kentucky in the early 1800s. Today
their descendants are believed to be mainly in Arkansas and Missouri.
Among the descendants and Martha (McNeely)
Dickey might be listed:
(a) The Reverend James Henry Dickey,
Presbyterian minister of Kentucky, Ohio and Illinois (1780-1856),
son of Robert Dickey and his second wife, Mary Henry, daughter
of James Henry and Agnes Mitchell;
(b) The Reverend William Nathaniel Dickey,
Acting Professor of Natural Philosophy and Astronomy, Davidson
College, 1860-61 (born Yorkville, SC 1834; graduated at Davidson,
1860 and Columbia Theological Seminary in 1869; Lieutenant CSA)
and Presbyterian minister in Texas; and
(c) Theophilus Lyle Dickey (1811-85)
Chief Justice of the Illinois Supreme Court.
The Compendium of American Genealogy,
First Families of America, Vol. V, p. 157; The Semi-Centennial
Catalogue of Davidson College, Davidson, NC, 1837-1887, published
in Raleigh, NC, 1891; J. Estelle Stewart King, Abstracts of Wills,
Inventories and Administration Accounts of Albermarle County,
Virginia 1748-1800 (1940), p. 7; P.E. Chappell, Genealogy of
the Chappell, Dickie, and Kindred Families of Virginia (1900),
3. Captain John Hillhouse was born May
15, 1744 in western Pennsylvania; came to South Carolina with
his father. He married Margaret Chambers, of western Pennsylvania,
who was born April 28, 1748. They were the parents of twelve
children, ten of whom reached maturity: William (a pioneer in
Texas), Samuel, Margaret, Jane, John Jr., Eli, Elijah, Sarah,
James, Joseph, and two others who died young (names not known).
In the Revolutionary War John rose from
private to Captain. He was then in his early thirties. After
the war he became a farmer and also operated a small weaving
establishment, an important handicraft in frontier days before
the advent of factory-made clothes and when imported materials
were little known except in the coastal cities.
He probably farmed originally the home
place in York, but later moved to Pendleton County, into that
part which is now Anderson County, and acquired land. A deed
recorded in the York County courthouse, dated 1797, carries an
attestation, with his brother James as to the validity of the
grant to his father in 1772 of the original Hillhouse place on
Turkey Creek. The 1790 Census lists a "John Hilhous"
and a "John Hillhouse," both in the Camden District,
York County. Since the latter is shown by the Census tract as
having a family of 12, this must have been Captain John. The
classification - free white males of "16 years and upward"
and "under 16 years," and "free white females"
tally fairly closely with the family records on Captain John
and his children. He would have been 46 in 1790 and two of his
sons old enough to give a count of "3" in the column
"free white males 16 years and upward, including heads of
The move to Pendleton County probably
occurred about 1802, or earlier. Records in the county courthouse
at Anderson, SC show three land grants to John, in 1802 and 1814,
totaling 238 acres - on Nelson's Branch and Rocky River, south
of the town.
He probably was a member of the Bullock's
Creek Presbyterian Church, and later of the Mt. Tabor Church
in Pendleton County. Evidence differs as to the exact place where
he was buried in 1832. In 1917 his grave and Margaret Chambers'
were described in a letter as located in a "small unused
grave yard surrounded by the village of Orr Cotton mills"
on the edge of Anderson. But others place the site at the Mt.
The Reverend Joseph B. Hillhouse Sr.,
born in 1820, recorded in his lifetime a slight recollection
of his grandfather as he was shortly before his death - "a
gray old patriarch in his eighties." The Eowdens of Mississippi,
as late as 1917, still owned an old leather covered trunk which
had been Captain John's.
4. The Reverend James Hillhouse
James, a grandson of William of the
Parish of St. Mark's and Providence, was the first well-educated
member of the South Carolina branch. He was a son of Captain
William of the Revolutionary War and Sarah UNKNOWN.
Born in Pendleton District, South Carolina,
about 1792, he was educated at Barennes Academy under David McDowell,
and then studied theology at Willington under the famous Dr.
Moses Waddel. He married Nancy Norris.
As a very young man he was licensed
to preach and in 1816-17 made pastor of both the famous Hopewell
Church (Old Stone Church) about two miles from Pendleton Village,
and the nearby Carmel Church. These he served from 1816 to 1822.
While there he was a member of the Pendleton Farmers' Society,
an organization associated with the founding of Clemson College
and to which John C. Calhoun also belonged, and which continued
in existence for over 100 years. During this pastorate he also
owned some 278 acres in the Pendleton District.
In 1822 he moved to Alabama, accepting
a call to the First Presbyterian Church of Greensborough. Here
he labored with great success for thirteen years, but his life
was cut short by an illness in 1835. Synod records testify that
"he was a man of considerable ability - a most fervent speaker.
His ministry, though short was greatly successful."
In an old encyclopedia, the following
sketch of him appears:
Rev. James Hillhouse of Pendleton District,
SC settled in 1822 at Greensborough, Green County, Alabama, where
he labored for many years with the zeal and energy of an apostle.
He organized in 1823 the church in that place and also that of
Carmel, Fairview, Marion and Cedar Grove. He was an unusually
popular and effective preacher. His command of language was remarkable
and his feelings were easily excited. No man was more abundant
in labor and none ever labored more cheerfully. It was the joy
of his heart to spend and be spent for the cause of Christ. His
appeals to the Church and to the world were truly powerful, and
under god his was the controlling mind in all the meetings in
which he participated. He died at Greensborough, November 17,
Captain William, the father of the Reverend
James, was the third (or fourth) son of William of the Province.
Born about 1752 in western Pennsylvania he made the trek with
his father down into Upper South Carolina. After the Revolutionary
War, He settled in Pendleton District (later Anderson County)
and in 1792 obtained a 250-acre land grant on Beaver Creek. Sometime
later he and his family moved to Starksville, Mississippi. Here
he lived to the ripe old age of about 95, dying there sometime
shortly after 1847. Beside his son James, he had two married
daughters - Mrs. Barron and Mrs. Elijah Bardwell, and two unmarried
daughters, Jane and Sallie.
Captain William's remains are interred
in the old Odd Fellows' Cemetery at Starksville. Many years ago
the Daughters of the American Revolution there erected a monument
to his memory.
5. Children of Captain John Hillhouse
Individual sketches appear herein on
the descendants of Jane Hillhouse Wilson; Samuel Hillhouse of
Cherokee County, Georgia; Eli of Lawrence County, Arkansas; and
of the Reverend Joseph.
On the order of the twelve children
of Captain John and Margaret (Chambers) Hillhouse it is known
only that William was the oldest and Joseph the youngest.
William was a pioneer settler in Texas
prior to its fight for independence from Mexico. He was a married
man and head of a family as shown by applications filed by his
hears for headright grants. He was killed in an attack on his
home; whether by Mexicans, or marauders, it is not known. His
heirs received a large tract of land under a headright certificate
dated May 3, 1838 issued by the Board of Land Commissioners of
Washington County, Texas. The certificate sets out that he emigrated
to Texas in 1832. Under this certificate a survey of one league
was located in which is now Montgomery and Waller Counties and
patented January 1847 to his heirs. Under an "unallocated
balance certificate" dated May 3, 1838, another survey of
land containing 969,000 square varas was located in Fennin County
and patented to his heirs on August 7, 1869. Descendants are
probably living in Texas and Arkansas.
Margaret Hillhouse married Unknown Stevenson
and moved to Kentucky. There are Stevensons in Kentucky, but
no connection has yet been established between any of these persons
and Margaret and her husband. George Robertson's Scrap Book on
Law and Politics, Men and Times, (1855), for example lists two
members of the Kentucky General Assembly in 1817 named Stevenson.
At a much later date, William Stevenson and two unmarried sisters
were living in Harrodsburg. Further research may prove more fruitful.
John Hillhouse, Jr. remained in Anderson
County and married, first, Cynthia Porter, and second, Mary Montgomery.
Six children were born of the first union: Sarah, Benjamin M.,
Porter, Margaret (married John Erskine), Elizabeth (married Warren
Smith), and Cynthia (married John Seawright). A land grant of
100 acres on Coldwater Creek in Anderson County was recorded
to John Jr. in 1814. Son Porter married Mary Morris and they
had five children: Mary Jane (married Samuel Gray), John D.,
Ann, Joseph N., and Samuel. Porter was killed in battle near
Lynchburg during the Civil War in the latter part of 1862.
Descendants of John Hillhouse, Jr. scattered
to Florida, Hardeman County, Tennessee, Arkansas and Texas. The
Hillhouses who have been living in Anderson County, SC since
1900 are also his descendants. Much of the information here was
supplied by Julia Gray, a granddaughter of Porter Hillhouse,
who lived in Washington, DC Some of those who remained in South
Carolina are interred at the Mountain Creek Church and the Roberts
Presbyterian Church in Anderson County.
Two sons of Captain John were bachelors.
Elijah, a twin brother of Eli, went with him to Arkansas and
died there. He is buried at Batesville. James, the second bachelor,
died at "Shady Grove," the home of the Reverend Joseph,
his younger brother. James is probably buried at the Mt. Zion
Sarah Hillhouse married James Allen
of New York and moved to Mississippi about 1847-48. Five children
were born to them: Anne, James Hillhouse, Theresa Minerva, and
two who died in infancy. Descendants are known to have lived
in Texas and in various parts of Mississippi. The Rev. Albert
Sidney Allen, DD, pastor of the Second Presbyterian Church of
Nashville, Tennessee, 1907-1933, was a grandson of James and
Sarah (Hillhouse) Allen, and a son of James Hillhouse Allen and
Emma S. Barton. He was an AB and BD graduate of the Southwestern
Presbyterian University. For many years he was also president
of the trustees of the Carnegie Library in Nashville.
As for the two remaining children of
Captain John and Margaret Chambers, their names are not known.
Supposedly they died either shortly after birth, or while still
6. The Reverend Joseph Hillhouse was
the second of the educated grandsons of William of the Province
(and a first cousin of the Reverend James who was his classmate).
Joseph was the youngest of twelve children
of Captain John and his wife, Margaret Chambers. He was born
in Camden District, York County, on October 11, 1789 when his
parents were 45 and 41 years of age. He graduated at Varennes
Academy, then under David McDowell of Winnsboro, and studied
theology with Dr. Moses Waddel at the famous Willington School.
Dr. Waddel later officiated at Joseph's marriage.
A fine description of Willington and
its influence has appeared in Memorials of Academic Life - Through
Three Generations, by John N. Waddel, Presbyterian Committee
of Publication, 1891, Richmond, VA.
Joseph married on Harriet Gibert, daughter
of the able Huguenot leader, Pierre Gibert, and a second cousin
of the distinguished Charleston lawyer, Judge James Louis Petigru.
Pierre had succeeded his uncle, the Reverend Jean Louis Gibert,
as head of the last Huguenot colony to come to South Carolina
(settled at New Bordeaux near Abbeville in 1764) and was also
a nephew of the Rt. Reverend Etienne Gibert, minister of the
Chapel Royal of St. James and later Rector of St. Andrew's, Isle
Joseph and Harriet had twelve children,
five sons and seven daughters: Mary Gibert, Joseph Bienaime,
John Peter, James Waddell, Benjamin, Elizabeth Gibert, Harriet
Newell, Lucy Kennedy, William Chambers, Sophie Golden, Susan
Humphries, and Eliza. All reached maturity and nine were married.
One (James Waddell) died at Manassas during the Civil War, on
July 22, 1861, the day after the first battle of Manassas (Bull
Joseph's first pastorate was at Fair
Forest Church (Union District) of the South Carolina Presbytery,
where he was ordained in 1817. Here his oldest son, Joseph Bienaime,
was born. The family's permanent home, however, over a long period
was at "Shady Grove," a place he bought, located about
two miles from the Mt. Zion Presbyterian Church at Sandy Springs
between the present towns of Anderson and Pendleton, and not
far from Six-and-Twenty Creek." Joseph had sold the place
close to Anderson which he inherited from his father in order
to be near to the church which was long his charge. "Shady
Grove," even after his death, remained the seat of this
part of the South Carolina branch until it was finally sold by
Joseph Bowen, a grandson. It was a barn of about 500 acres, well
watered with creeks and springs.
He died on November 22, 1855, age 67
years, in charge of the Mt. Zion and Midway Churches, and is
buried in the family plot at Mt. Zion where now some fourteen
or more of his descendants also rest.
A great-granddaughter, Elizabeth Bowden
Willett, had the plot enclosed with a cement wall about 1947.
Among the family interred there are: The Reverend Joseph; his
wife, Harriet; sons, Waddell (Civil War casualty) and Benjamin;
two unmarried daughters, Harriet and Eliza; daughter Elizabeth
and her husband, Alfred Bowden; grandsons Joseph Bowden and wife,
Mary Boggs, and Walter and James Waddell Bowden; and three grandchildren
who died young - James, Harriet and Mary Bruce.
7. The Reverend William Dickey was a
grandson of William of the Province and a son of Margaret Hillhouse
and Robert Dickey; born December 6, 1774 at Bullock's Creek,
His father and mother moved in 1775
to Bourbon County and later Logan County, Kentucky. The mother
died in Ohio, August 30, 1778, leaving three small children:
John, William and Martha. After the mother's death they were
returned to South Carolina to live with their grandfather. William
Dickey was baptized by the Reverend Joseph Alexander in the Bullock's
Creek Presbyterian Church.
Later he returned to Kentucky and was
licensed to preach by the Transylvania Presbytery at Spring Hill,
October 8, 1802. The records show further that he was commissioned
by the General Assembly in 1814 as one of 50 ministers to undertake
missionary tours. Ten of these were directed to carry on their
work within the bounds of the Synod of Kentucky. The Reverend
William was assigned the counties of Livingston, Caldwell, Muhlenburg,
Ohio, Henderson, Hopkins and Union, with the adjacent settlements
along the Ohio River.
He married first, Rebecca Ross from
near Nashville, Tennessee, and second, Ella Ghormley, of Greenfield,
Ohio. He died December 5, 1857 at Bloomingburg, Ohio.
His father, Robert Dickey, was brother
of Mary Dickey who married James Hillhouse. See Sketch 2 above.
In January 1780 Robert married Mary Henry, the daughter of James
Henry and Agnes Mitchell. There were descendants also of this
8. The Reverend John Simpson Wilson,
DD was the most distinguished of the great-grandsons of William
of the Province.
Born in Anderson District (then Pendleton),
SC, January 4, 1796, the son of Jane Hillhouse (a daughter of
Captain John and Margaret Chambers Hillhouse) and Robert Wilson.
His parents moved to Missouri in his early childhood but returned
South in 1812. After preparation (probably at the Varennes Academy)
he studied classics and theology under the celebrated Dr. Moses
Waddel at his Willington School; later at Ruckersville, GA under
a Mr. McDowell. His theological preparations were completed under
Dr. Thomas Charlton Henry of Columbia, SC, one of the most accomplished
scholars and preachers of the day. After being licensed on October
4, 1819, by the Presbytery of South Carolina, he taught school
and preached for four years at Ruckersville (Elbert County),
Married Juliet Means (who died October
18, 1868). Of this marriage four sons and four daughters were
In 1824 pastorate work was begun in
Gwinnett County and continued for 20 years. During this period,
he was pastor of Fairview Church, and projected and built up
the Presbyterian Church at Lawrenceville. These churches greatly
prospered under his ministry, increasing to hundreds from small
numbers. For 15 years he was rector of the old academy of Lawrenceville,
having large flourishing classes of young men from Gwinnett and
adjoining counties. From this school some went forth into the
In 1844 he moved to Decatur where he
had organized the First Presbyterian Church of Decatur. Here
he remained as pastor for 15 years; also diligently engaged in
the school room during this period. The last school under his
direction was the Hannah Moore Female Collegiate Institute in
Decatur, charted on December 22, 1857.
In 1859 he was called as the full-time
pastor of the First Presbyterian Church of Atlanta, a church
which he had organized in 1848 with nineteen charter members,
and which he had served as its first pastor in connection with
his duties in Decatur. Dr. Wilson was with the Atlanta church
until his death on March 27, 1873. He is buried at Oakland Cemetery.
He was eminently successful as a teacher,
preacher, and writer. He educated hundreds of scholars; organized
14 churches (and other churches were formed by emigrations from
his churches); was sent as a commissioner to 11 General Assemblies,
and was elected Moderator of the General Assembly in 1864. The
Doctor of Divinity degree was conferred on him by Oglethorpe
University in 1852.
His active ministry covered a period
of over 53 years. For 35 consecutive years he failed only once
to attend Synod, and that because of severe family affliction.
He attended presbyteries without number. When the Synod of Georgia
was organized in 1845, he was elected Stated Clerk, and resigned
only at the last meeting, in November 1872.
According to his associates, he remained
quite vigorous until the end. "He was among the few who
continue to grow intellectually after the meridian of life. His
best efforts appeared after his 60th year, and he was mentally
more vigorous at 70 than at 40 and 50 . . ."
Biographical sketch in E.C. Scott, Ministerial
Directory, etc. 1861-1941.
9. The Reverend Joseph Bienaime Hillhouse,
Sr. was born January 5, 1820 in Union District, SC where his
father, the Reverend Joseph, was pastor of the Fair Forest Presbyterian
Church. He was the oldest son; his mother was Harriet, daughter
of Pierre Gibert, head of the French Huguenot settlement at New
On December 18, 1849 he married Ester
Love Steele (born March 9, 1826), the daughter of James and Elizabeth
Ann (Bruce) Steele. The ceremony was at Grumble Thorpe Hall,
the Steele plantation home in Anderson District. Of this union,
nine children were born: Annie Elizabeth, Harriet Gibert, James
Steele, Susan Idelette, Louis Durand, William Laurens, Marcus
Lee, Joseph Bienaime Jr., and Walter Calhoun.
He graduated from the Columbia Theological
Seminary and was ordained as a Presbyterian minister on April
23, 1845 by the Presbytery of South Carolina meeting at Gilder's
Creek Church. See the Rev. George Howe, History of the Presbyterian
Church in South Carolina (Columbia, SC 1883) Vol. II, pp 746-747.
He held pastorates at Bethany, Warrior's Creek, Duncan's Creek,
Mt. Zion, and Pickens Court House (all in the South Carolina
Presbytery), and at Calhoun, Red Clay, and Sonora (in the Cherokee,
GA Presbytery). He also, early in his career, conducted a school
at Double Branches, SC; later (but before the Civil War) at Clinton,
SC on the site where the Presbyterian Church now stands; and
at Newberry, SC where he resided 1869-74.
Calhoun, GA became the family home from
1874, after he accepted pastorates in Georgia. Near there in
Gordon County was a 100-acre farm which James Steele had given
to his daughter. He died June 12, 1887 and his wife on July 10,
the same year. Both are buried in the Chandler Cemetery, northeast
10. John Peter Hillhouse, MD was born
March 18, 1821, the second son of the Reverend Joseph and Harriet
(Gibert) Hillhouse. He grew up at the family plantation home,
"Shady Grove" and became a member of the Mt. Zion Presbyterian
Church (near Sandy Springs) where his father was pastor.
He received his medical training at
the Medical College of Georgia, Augusta, graduating with the
MD degree on March 3, 1847, and married (on December 21, 1847)
Harriette Desdemona Foster (born March 10, 1830, daughter of
Robert Crowe and Susan Young Foster). Mr. Foster deeded his daughter
and son-in-law a tract on Paris Mountain, another on the old
Buncombe Road about nine miles from Greenville, and a third near
Marietta. They lived on the Buncomb Road tract near Travelers
Rest until about 1872. From this base he practiced medicine in
a wide area, traveling by horseback.
Of this marriage eleven children were
born, but only six lived to maturity: Emma Melissa, Susan Harriet,
Edward Young, Tweetie, John Peter Jr., and Laurens Petigru. Since
the mother was an invalid (crippled by a fall), a governess lived
in the house and taught the children. Later they attended school
at what is called "The Old Stone House" on the old
Buncombe Road. Mrs. Hillhouse did a great deal of handiwork,
as she had to sit so much of the time, and her needlework was
When the two older girls reached the
ages 18 and 20, the family moved to Greenville in order that
they, plus the younger children might have better advantages.
Here he gave up his medical practice and obtained a license to
conduct business as a "Pharmaceutist, Apothecary and Druggist"
(license dated July 31, 1872). His pharmacy was known as the
Greenville Drug Store.
When the First Presbyterian Church was
organized February 26, 1848, he became its first Clerk of the
Session. He was elected an Elder on April 9, 1848, served with
one other for years, and was faithful in his duties despite the
distance of nine miles from Greenville to his home, and a busy
medical practice. A history of the Greenville church records
that he served as an officer for more than 31 years and with
"very faithful performance of duty."
Immediately prior to the Civil War he
was elected, together with John W. Stokes, David Hoke and Dr.
J.M. Sullivan, as representatives in the State Legislature. He
took part in the session which authorized the election of delegates
to the Secession Convention. During the War period, for a time,
he was an Army doctor, but the family records give no details.
He died September 18, 1879 and his wife
January 19, 1893. Of six grandchildren, three were living in
1958: Edward Lee, an electrical engineer; Lula Hariette, a musician
and teacher; and Marguerite, a college administrator.
11. Elizabeth Gibert Hillhouse Bowden,
the second daughter of the Reverend Joseph and Harriet (Gibert)
Hillhouse, was born February 13, 1825. She married in 1855 Alfred
Benjamin Bowden (born in October 1826).
Three sons were born to them: first,
Walter Gwin, born in September 1857, died on October 29, 1881
while a senior at Davidson College; second, Joseph Hillhouse;
and third, James Waddell. The latter married Lillian Marie Mullan
on November 20, 1901. She died in 1909 and he in 1919.
Alfred was a farmer and leading citizen
in old Pendleton County, and an elder in the Mt. Zion Presbyterian
Church at Sandy Springs. He died April 13, 1905 and his wife
April 18, 1914. Both are interred at the Mt. Zion church.
Joseph Hillhouse Bowden (b. ), the second
son, married Mary Boggs. They lived for a time at Colusa, CA,
but returned to Anderson County where he bought the old family
plantation, "Shady Grove," established by his grandfather.
He improved the place; also rebuilt the Centerville Mill on Six-and-Twenty
Creek. Six sons and two daughters were born of this marriage:
Walter, Calvin, Joseph, Alfred, Gibert, Elizabeth, Leland and
Sometime after the mother died (June
17, 1908) the family moved to Pass Christian, Mississippi. Both
Joseph and Mary are buried in the family plot at the Mt. Zion
Elizabeth, the older daughter (born
March 20, 1902) married Sherrod Roberts Willett, and lives at
Gulfport, MS. They have two children: Ruth Lloyd (born September
26, 1928) and a graduate of Duke University, and Sherrod Roberts
Jr. (born March 14, 1937).
To Mrs. Willett all descendants of the
Reverend Joseph Hillhouse are indebted for her work in having
the family plot at Mt. Zion enclosed and for its care and preservation.
12. Captain William C. Hillhouse was
born October 11, 1829 in Anderson County, SC, the ninth child
of Reverend Joseph and Harriet (Gibert) Hillhouse.
Although we do not know the name of
the academy, he was probably well educated because he became
a teacher of Latin and Greek. Before the Civil War he taught
in his older brother's school at Clinton, SC, and after the war
On April 6, 1859 he married Martha Ann
Steele (born June 23, 1838), the daughter, and sixth child, of
a well-to-do upper Carolina planter, James Steele, and Elizabeth
Ann (Bruce) Steele. Her father owned "mill Heights"
and "Grumble Thorpe Hall," the latter a large, rambling
up-country mansion near Bruce's Ford with wide verandahs, porticos,
high-ceilinged rooms, "nine fireplaces," a flower garden
with shrubbery - lined walks, and a fine view of the distant
Blue Ridge. It has been described as "one of the most pleasant
residences in the upper country." Martha Ann and William,
however, were married in the earlier home.
Through this marriage the descendants
of Captain William trace back to the Alexanders and Polks of
Mecklenburg County, NC, the Loves of Augusta County, Virginia,
and the Steeles of upper South Carolina and colonial Connecticut.
James Steele moved to Cherokee County,
GA during the first year of the Civil War and remained there
until his death, February 19, 1876. His diaries covering about
15 years, and some of his correspondence with his kinsman, Governor
Joseph E. Brown, the Civil War governor of Georgia, are in the
Minnie Robertson Smith Collection in the Rhodes Memorial Library,
William was 32 years old when the Civil
War began; his first child, Thomas Edward, was born April 6,
1861 in the critical days surrounding the beginnings of hostilities.
William became a Captain in the Quartermaster Corps, serving
originally with a regiment in combat as a regimental commissary
officer, and later as a key Assistant Commissary of the Army.
Requisitioning of horses and provisions took him over substantial
parts of Alabama, middle Georgia and South Carolina.
After the war he and his family settled
at "Crow Creek" (or "Crow Creek Falls") in
Old Pickens County which was probably a farm belonging to his
wife. These early post-war years were difficult ones. There at
least two of his children were born, and there little Thomas
Edward died at age seven. The family about 1870, or 1871, moved
to nearby Greenville where Professor Hillhouse established his
own private school, with four or five teachers on his staff.
He and his growing family of four children became members of
the First Presbyterian Church of Greenville. Ultimately he was
made a Senior Deacon, and he and his wife for years were staunch
pillars of this congregation.
In later years he gave up teaching for
business, operating a livery stable (the equivalent then of the
modern garage) and a furniture business. He retained, however,
his keen interest in books and was always an avid reader. Greenville
was then a small city, an educational center with Furman College
and Greenville Female Academy. Its industrial growth had not
yet become a dominant factor.
Martha Ann died on October 3, 1896 when
their eldest daughter, Martha Ann (Mattie) was thirty-one, and
the two younger daughters aged twenty and fifteen. Mary (20)
became a teacher and Esther Love (Estelle) went to live with
her married sister.
Captain William died on June 11, 1908,
at age 79, at the home of his son, William Chambers, in Waynesboro,
Georgia where he lived the last four or five years of his life.
Captain William and his wife are both buried at Springwood Cemetery,
Greenville, together with the two infant sons, James Waddell
and Henry. The first born, Thomas Edward, is interred at the
Presbyterian Church yard at Old Pickens Court house.
13. Other Children of the Reverend Joseph
Descendants of five of the twelve children
of the Reverend Joseph, namely, the Reverend Joseph Bienaime
Sr., Dr. John Peter, Elizabeth Gibert (Bowden), Capt. William
C. and Susan Humphries (Glasgow) are the subject of individual
sketches herein. Combined in the instant sketch are the remaining
Mary Gibert, the eldest, was born April
4, 1818. She married James Cunningham. Six children were born
to them: William Thomas, John Wright, Joseph Hillhouse, James
Gibert, Leland Kennedy, and Edwin Cater Cunningham. They made
their home in Union County, SC. Both James and Mary G. H. Cunningham
are buried at the Mt. Vernon Church near Untion, SC.
James Waddell, the third son, was born
April 20, 1822 in Anderson County. He never married. One day
after the first battle of Manassas (Bull Run) on July 22, 1861
he died a casualty from a percussion bomb, and is buried at the
Mt. Zion church near Sandy Springs. He belonged to the 4th South
Benjamin Kennedy, born July 13, 1823,
married Melvina Burns on December 1852, but died young. Their
only child, Benjamin Alexander Hillhouse, also died young and
Two daughters, Harriet Newell, born
April 16, 1826, and Eliza Saline, born June 22, 1834 (the youngest
child) never married. Harriet died at age 34, and Eliza at 65
years. Harriet is buried at Mt. Zion.
Lucy Kennedy, born November 15, 1827,
married Harvey Burns, but died six weeks after her marriage.
Harvey was a brother of Melvina Burns, the wife of Benjamin K.
Lucy is buried at the Mt. Vernon Church near Union, SC.
Sophia Golden, the tenth child, was
born November 25, 1831. She married Perry Sanford Francis Bruce;
they lived at Elberton, Georgia. Out of a family of five children,
three died quite young and are buried at the Mt. Zion Church.
One son never married; a daughter Jessie Olivia, married John
H. Craig, but they had no children. There are, therefore, no
descendants of this family. The mother and father outlived all
the children. They are interred at Elberton.
14. Richard Henry Hillhouse, born in
1829, was a great-grandson of Captain John Hillhouse, a grandson
of Samuel and Annie Crownover Hillhouse of Cherokee County, GA
and a son of Elijah and Nancy Mauldin Hillhouse.
Elijah (born 1792, died April 7, 1862)
was as a boy a messenger in the State House of Representatives;
later a Justice of the Inferior Court, Cherokee County 1839-41.
He married in 1822 Nancy Mauldin (born 1850 died 1885, buried
at Holly Springs, Georgia).
Richard Henry was an architect; married
Georgia Amanda Roper (born 1844). Two sons were born: Charles
Wesley and John Henry, the founders of the families at Sylvester,
Richard Henry served in the Confederate
Army, Captain Cook's Company, 2nd Calvary, from Randolph County,
and died at Cuthbert, GA in 1864. He is buried at the Bethel
Baptist Church near the line of Randolph and Calhoun Counties.
15. Judge Jasper Newton Hillhouse, a
grandson of the pioneers, Eli Hillhouse and Mary Dean, who moved
to frontier Arkansas about 1812 from South Carolina, was an outstanding
member of this portion of the family. He was born, February 22,
1832, on what is now known as the Brown-White Place, near Smithville,
Lawrence County, AR (where is also located a family cemetery
which contains the original Arkansas Hillhouses and three generations
of descendants). His grandparents had five children, the second
being Sebira (died 1864), the mother of Jasper Newton. His father
was W.B. Marshall (a representative of Lawrence County in the
State Legislature for 20 years) but he later took his mother's
He married Anne Eliza Wasson (born August
24, 1847 from parents who moved to Arkansas from Tennessee) on
February 3, 1874. They had four children: Benjamin Milton, Lockey
Geneva, Sydney Ralph and Floy Louise.
Although he served his community as
County Clerk four years, and later as County Judge for four years
(and at a time when Lawrence County covered a very wide area
of the State of Arkansas), his genius lay as one of the great
teachers of Arkansas in its early days and during the difficult
days following the Civil War. A memorial history of Lawrence
County (published in 1936) records:
Any list of outstanding citizens of
Lawrence County should contain the name of Jasper N. Hillhouse
whose ancestors came to this county at an early date. He was
born in 1832 and became in later years the most noted of the
pioneer teachers of that county. He was a man of unusual mental
endowments and one of those teachers who made lasting impressions
on the minds and characters of their pupils. He taught for many
years at Smithville and had much to do no doubt in giving direction
to the lives of the youth of that community. . . .
Judge Hillhouse was very tall, gaunt,
and had rather thin angular features. He has been described as
markedly Lincolnesque in appearance, although in his old age
he wore a white, flowing beard. He had an outstanding library
for his day and community. His was also a teacher and a musician.
Both were staunch Presbyterians. He died February 12, 1902. Descendants
live at Jesup, Batesville and Smithville, AR; Charleston, MO;
and Phoenix, AZ.
16. The Reverend James Steele Hillhouse,
DD was born at Laurens, SC, July 25, 1854, son of the Reverend
Joseph Bienaime Hillhouse, Sr. and Esther Love Steele Hillhouse.
During his early youth the family moved to Calhoun, Georgia.
BA Princeton University, 1881; MA 1884.
Studied at the Princeton Theological Seminary 1881-84, BD degree;
ordained September 26, 1884.
Married Belle Boaz, Calhoun, GA, March
1, 1888 (she died July 23, 1903). Three children were born: Walter,
Joseph and Nida, and all grew to maturity.
His first church was at Ringgold, GA
in Cherokee Presbytery. After two years there he became pastor
of the church at Cartersville, GA, a post he held for seven years.
In 1893 he was elected pastor of the First Presbyterian Church
of Vicksburg, MS. This congregation first learned of him through
the Rev. Sam Jones, noted evangelist, who had visited the city
shortly before and found the church without a permanent minister.
Here he remained for 27 years, dying there on April 9, 1920.
The Southwestern Presbyterian University conferred the Doctor
of Divinity degree upon him in 1902. While he was pastor at Vicksburg,
the congregation built a handsome new church. A memorial there
honors his long service.
He was indeed a beloved pastor and person.
The Vicksburg Post had this to say at his death:
In the death of Dr. Hillhouse one of
Vicksburg's best men has passed onward. His sphere of usefulness
extended far beyond his congregation for he possessed a very
wide acquaintanceship in this city and section, and what with
his democratic manner, his desire to serve and his sunny disposition,
there were few homes here that he had not visited, and where
he was not always a welcomed guest. . . .
A student of human nature, tolerant
and broad and sympathetic, Dr. Hillhouse knew human frailties
and limitations, and he also knew the beauties of character that
were often hidden from eyes less penetrating and hearts less
sympathetic than his.
He possessed a wide knowledge of human
nature, and his vein of humor was well developed. He was never
at a loss to tell an apt and amusing story, one which, however,
always pointed a wholesome moral.
Dr. Hillhouse was at home in any assemblage.
At the graveside, in the school room, before his congregation,
at any gathering of his fellow men he could spontaneously deliver
an apropos talk and capture and hold the attention of his auditors,
and then win their respect and admiration through some kindly
admonition. . . .
He also was a well-read man, and he
knew not only scriptural but other books. He was an inquisitive
mind and nature, and he visited many places on the byways at
home, and when he went away from the city, he always saw much
that was of interest, and he never failed to give his observations
to his congregation and to his friends and acquaintances. . .
Biographical sketch in Scott, Ministerial
17. William Laurens Hillhouse was born
July 29, 1861, at Clinton, SC, son of the Reverend Joseph Bienaime
(Sr.) and Esther Love (Steele) Hillhouse. His family moved to
Calhoun when he was a small boy.
He was educated at Calhoun and at Princeton
University where his older brother, James, had also studied.
He returned to his home town, became a building contractor, and
also later a nurseryman. Many of the huge oaks which adorn the
streets of Calhoun he planted; never having been married, these
were his "children." He also took an active interest
in the city government and was Mayor when the first municipal
waterworks was built. At his death the local newspaper wrote:
"It is generally agreed that no citizen has done more for
the advancement of Calhoun than 'Mr. Laurens..'"
He had, in effect, two separate careers,
first as a successful builder and nurseryman, and second as an
industrial missionary to the Belgian Congo Free State in West
Africa. Having amassed some wealth, he decided at age 52 to offer
his services and to pay his own way as a missionary under the
Presbyterian Church. He was in the Congo a total of 10 years,
1913-19 and again 1921-25. On his way there he carried letters
to the Belgian Government at Brussels and was given a grant of
100 hectares to be used for experimentation with cotton culture.
His major contributions, however, were in building brick churches
and schools, in teaching the natives the art of brick making,
and introducing to the area new varieties of fruit trees and
vegetables. He also made the first baking ovens for the missionaries.
On his return in 1919 he built the stone
Presbyterian Church at Calhoun. His own home, and for Idelette,
his sister, he had constructed in 1907. After his return in 1925
he built some buildings for the mountain mission school at Macoochee,
North Georgia; for the Martha Berry School, Rome, GA; a stone
chapel over the grave of Cora Harris (author of "The Circuit
Rider's Wife") at her former home, "In the Valley,"
in Bartow County on the Pine Log Creek; and a chapel at the Chandler
Cemetery, northeast of Calhoun. For a time he also continued
his nursery business.
He and Idelette took a great interest
in family history. In Scotland he visited Professor Percy A.
Hillhouse, the naval architect, and both corresponded extensively
with near and distant relatives. Without their basic work, extending
over quite a few years, the present volume would never have been
Idelette died in April 1950, age 94;
he followed on April 1, 1951, at age 89. Both are buried in the
It is hoped that the present little
volume will be regarded, in large measure, a memorial to these
wonderful and devoted Christians.
18. The Reverend Joseph Bienaime Hillhouse,
Jr. was born at Anderson, SC, September 17, 1866, son of the
Reverend Joseph B. Sr. and Esther Love (Steele) Hillhouse. He
grew up at Calhoun, GA, the family home.
He was educated at Calhoun, the Southwestern
Presbyterian University (Clarksville, TN) BA 1890; and the McCormick
Theological Seminary (Chicago) BD 1894. Ordained October 12,
Married on October 5, 1915 Eugenia (Jean)
Culbertson of Lincoln County, GA, daughter of a physician and
a graduate of the Georgia State College for Women (Milledgeville)
in 1911. One child, Esther Love, was born on August 31, 1920.
Pastorates at Benoit, Glen Allen and
Rosedale, MS (1894-96); Barnett Street Church, Atlanta (1896-01);
Covington, GA (1901-06); evangelist Augusta Presbytery (1906-07);
pastorates at Lebanon and Hopewell group, SC Presbytery (1907-21);
Waxhaw and Tirzah group, Bethel Presbytery (1921-26); Bethune,
Pine Tree and Turkey Creek Churches, Congaree Presbytery (1926-28).
Died at Monroe, NC on December 26, 1928, and was buried in the
Chandler Cemetery, northeast of Calhoun. He was affectionately
known in the family and to close friends as "Bannie."
After her husband's death, Jean taught
at the Highland Institute (KY), and later for over 15 years at
the Fassifern School for Girls (under Dr. John L. Sevier) in
19. Martha Ann Hillhouse Anderson, the
eldest daughter of Captain William C. and Martha Ann (Steele)
Hillhouse, was born November 17, 1865 in Old Pickens County,
SC The family moved to Greenville in 1870-71 where Mattie grew
up and was educated. The family residence was at 45 College Street
(corner of College and Buncombe).
She married Albert Williams Anderson
on January 29, 1885 in the First Presbyterian Church of Greenville.
Mr. Anderson was born November 27, 1863 at Cartersville, Georgia,
the son of Dr. James Williams Anderson, a prominent physician
of Laurens County, SC and Elizabeth Laurens Watts Anderson. His
great-great-grandfather was Colonel James Williams one of the
five American colonels who fought in the Battle of Kings Mountain,
and a Revolutionary War hero.
Four daughters were born of this union:
Lola, Virginia, Eloise and Anne. The family lived on Greene Street
in Augusta, and later on the "hill" in North Augusta,
Mattie was petite; showed markedly her
French Huguenot ancestry in her vivaciousness, sparkling eyes,
keen interest in life, and her strong love for family and family
ties. Her home had about it an Old World charm.
Colonel Anderson was a successful railroad
executive. He entered the University of South Carolina at age
16, but while a Junior both parents died and he left college
at age 19; went to work, after several interim jobs, with Greenwood,
Laurens and Spartanburg RR (later a part of the C&WC RR).
In 1896 he was made general manager of the newly consolidated
Charleston and Western Carolina Railroad, and subsequently vice-president
and general manager. In reality during all the years from 1896
on, his was the guiding hand of the railroad's operation and
development, and its 1400 employees, a fact openly recognized
even by its president and general counsel who maintained a large
private law practice.
An editorial at the time of his elevation
to the presidency had this to say of his many years as vice-president
and general manager:
The above recitation of the growth of
the C&WC properties is indeed a romance in the history of
railroading. The personality of Albert W. Anderson, his dynamic
energy and his intense loyalty to his railroad's interests, are
factors that contributed very materially to this marvelous growth.
. . . Mr. Anderson's devotion to his railroad is second only
to his devotion to his family, and after his family and his railroad
comes his loyalty to his adopted city of Augusta. The C&WC
railroad is one of the most important factors in the community's
industrial and commercial life, and the management under Mr.
Anderson has shown an admirable spirit of cooperation. . . .
The Chronicle felicitates the owners, employees and patrons of
the C&WC in the elevation of this very worthy and very able
official to the highest place within the gift of the road's directors
. . .
Another editorial at the time of his
His life was devoted to the building
up of a great railroad of the South, and much of its progress
was undoubtedly due to his energy, his intelligent direction
and his driving power. We have seen him before city councils,
chambers of commerce and state railroad commissions, and he was
always there fighting, fighting for his railroad's interests.
He believed that his railroad was one of the great developers
and builders of Augusta and Western South Carolina as, indeed,
it has been. . . .
Colonel Anderson died on February 3,
1930 and Martha Ann on June 8, 1953. Both are interred in the
Westover Memorial Park at Augusta.
20. William Chambers Hillhouse was born
December 12, 1867 in Old Pickens County, SC, son of Captain William
C. and Martha Ann (Steele) Hillhouse.
Most of his boyhood was spent in Greenville,
SC where he was educated at Morton's Military Academy. Because
of difficult finances in the post-Reconstruction days, he went
to work as a boy of about 16 as a railroad telegraph operator
in Laurens, SC. He rose rapidly - was made general agent in Waynesboro,
GA at the age of 21, and general freight agent for all the railroads
in Augusta at 28.
He returned to Waynesboro, however,
in order to marry Cornelia (Nell) Thomas. This marriage occurred
June 9, 1897 at the Thomas Rocky Creek plantation home. Five
children were born of this marriage: Martha Ruth, William Charles,
Albert Miller, Nell, and Katherine Roberta.
After one year as again general railway
agent at Waynesboro, he became general manager of the newly organized
Waynesboro Grocery Company (wholesale). From 1898 to 1911 he
directed this company and built up a prosperous business. Later
he went into business for himself: drayage, farming, dairying,
and as Standard Oil representative. Later, for about four years,
he was the major stockholder of the Hillhouse-Haynie Creamery
(ice-cream manufacturers) in Augusta. His main interests, however,
over the years were dairying, farming and stock breeding. When
he died his dairy of over 100 head had been a going concern for
about 46 years. He prided himself on his fine purebred Jerseys;
was the earliest member in Georgia of the American Jersey Cattle
Club. His fine sires (St. Lamberts and others) greatly improved
the quality of the milk cattle in Burke County. In 1928 the State
College of Agriculture conferred on him the title "Master
Farmer." See "Key Men of Rural Georgia, 1928,"
Bulletin, Vol. XVII, No. 360 (January 1929), Georgia State College
of Agriculture, Athens.
During World War I he was a member of
the directing committee responsible for the war bond drives in
When first married he bought a house
on Liberty Street; later purchased from George Gordon the Winter
Place (east of Waynesboro), and remodeled the house. After the
original residence burned, he built a new home, completed in
1926. By purchases from P.L. Corker, Sr., he enlarged the place
(Rosemont Farm) to approximately 650 acres. This was his main
dairy and stock farm, although he rented other places at various
times (a Rowland place, the Malabar Farm and the Thomas Rocky
For fifteen years he served as the county
Grand Jury Commissioner; for several years as a director of the
Bank of Waynesboro; was a founder-member of the Waynesboro Rotary
Club and the Waynesboro Country Club. He was also for years an
officer in the First Presbyterian Church - first as a deacon
and later an elder; also for many years the secretary-treasurer
of the Sunday School.
He died October 7, 1944 after a year's
illness, and was interred in the Kew Cemetery. A good likeness
of him was done in 1950 by the portrait painter, Georg Poppe,
from a photograph, and hangs in the Rosemont Farm home.
21. Mary Hillhouse Pratt, second daughter
of Captain William C. and Martha Ann S. Hillhouse, was born August
28, 1876 at Greenville, SC; was christened "Mary Elizabeth."
The family residence was at 45 College Street (corner of College
and Buncombe) near the Greenville Female College. Miss Judson,
the head of the women's college, lived with the Hillhouse family
for a time.
Mary prepared for college in the public
schools, and then studied at the Female College, which later
became the women's department of Furman University. Even in Mary's
student days the laboratory work was done at Furman.
Upon the death of her mother Mary was
20 years old. She began then an interesting career in the public
schools, first as a teacher at Piedmont, SC; later at Waynesboro,
GA where he brother lived.
On November 16, 1911 she married Charles
Oswald Pratt (born in Due West, SC on August 15, 1874) the son
of John William and Mary Elizabeth (Mosley) Pratt. His mother
was from Pickens, SC. Charles studied at Erskine College. At
the time of their marriage he was in the wholesale grocery business
at Macon; later became owner of the High Point Mineral Springs
and a horticulturist. They make their home at a lovely suburban
spot, "High Point," on Wimbish Road near Wesleyan College,
where both are great lovers of the outdoors, especially as flower
Charles is a charter member of the new
Ingleside Baptist Church on Wimbish Road; Mary has retained her
membership in the Vineville Avenue Presbyterian Church.
22. Estelle Love Hillhouse Slaughter,
the youngest child of Captain William C. and Martha Ann S. Hillhouse,
was born August 28, 1881 at Greenville, SC. Her first name "Esther"
she later changed to "Estelle."
Since she was only 15 years old when
her mother died, she went to live with her older married sister,
Martha Ann. She was educated in Greenville and Augusta, preparing
herself as a kindergarten teacher and pianist.
On February 26, 1907 she married George
Edward Banks, Jr., an attorney of Winchester, TN, who was born
June 1, 1880 at Deterred, TN, the son of State Senator George
Edward Banks, Sr. and Mattie Johnson Banks. For 24 years until
his death (May 13, 1931), they made their home at Winchester.
No children were born of this marriage.
Judge Banks was educated at the Winchester
Normal College; began his law career in his father's office;
was admitted to the bar in 1903; served as Mayor of Winchester,
and for sixteen years as County Judge of Franklin Co. At the
time of his death he was mentioned prominently as a gubernatorial
candidate. For years he was local counsel of the NC & St.L
RR; also owned and edited a newspaper. He was also a high degree
Mason, a Shriner, a Grand Commander of the Knights of Pythias,
and a vestryman of the Episcopal Church.
After his death, Estelle married Benjamin
G. Slaughter, who was born November 5, 1880 in Bedford County,
TN, the son of Benjamin G. and Lucy Osborn Slaughter. From the
Webb School he entered Vanderbilt University, graduating in chemical
engineering in 1902. Here he was a member of the Sigma Chi fraternity.
He began his career with the Walsh &
Weidener Boiler Company; later became chief engineer, general
manager and finally vice-president of the Tennessee Copper Company.
At one time he was also a vice-president of the International
Nickel Company. From 1923-1932 he was general manager and president
of the Tubize Artificial Silk Company which merged with another
company and became the Tubize Chatillon Corporation, rayon manufacturers.
He also had a wide experience as a consulting
engineer, designing and building industrial plants for the Tennessee
Copper Company, the International Nickel Company, the Canadian
Copper Company, and the American Potash Company. He was for three
years a member of the Philadelphia chemical engineering firm
of Meigs, Bassett and Slaughter, Inc. Other activities included:
the presidency of the Virginia Manufacturers Association, and
chairmanship of the Advisory Board of the Hopewell Branch of
the Richmond Trust Co.
He was a Mason; a Rotarian; a deacon
of the Second Baptist Church, Richmond; president of the Monteagle
Sunday School Assembly, Monteagle, TN; and a member of the Mountain
City Club of Chattanooga, TN and the Chemists Club of New York
City. He died at age 59 on September 18, 1940.
After Mr. Slaughter's death, Estelle
kept her home in Richmond, spending part of the year, however,
at Monteagle and part with her step-daughter, Margaret.
A sketch of Benjamin Slaughter and Estelle
appears in The Compendium of American Genealogy - First Families
of America, Vol. VI, The Institute of American Genealogy, Chicago,
1937, p. 518.
23. Lila Glasgow Irwin, granddaughter
of the Reverend Joseph Hillhouse, and daughter of the Reverend
Leonnidas K. Glasgow and Susan Humphries (Hillhouse) Glasgow,
was born May 12, 1869 at Newberry, SC. Her full name was Eliza
Cleora. She was the fourth child and eldest daughter in a family
of five boys and four girls.
Her father for years conducted a school,
Bethel Academy, in Mecklenburg County, and was pastor at the
Bethel Presbyterian Church. His school was largely preparatory
for Davidson College.
Lila was educated at Bethel Academy
and the Newberry Female Academy, where she graduated. For years
she was a successful teacher in the Davidson public schools and
elsewhere. On June 30, 1910 she married Hall Morrison Irwin,
business man of Charlotte, NC. He was a grandson of the first
president of Davidson College and a nephew of Generals Stonewall
Jackson and Daniel Harvey Hill, CSA. One son, Hall Morrison Irwin,
Jr., was born of this marriage (April 27, 1911). He graduated
in architecture from the North Carolina State College in 1933.
The family belonged to the West Avenue Presbyterian Church in
Charlotte. Lila died in March 1951, many years after her husband's
Three of her brothers graduated at Davidson:
Joseph Kennedy, 1890; Benjamin Waddell in 1891; and Hiriam W.
Glasgow in 1892. Waddell Glasgow was a charter member of the
Delta Chapter of the Kappa Sigma Fraternity at Davidson. He became
a successful public school administrator in Dallas, TX.
The Glasgow home in Davidson was sold
in the 1930's to Dr. Walter Lingle, the retired president of
Davidson College, and the adjoining fifteen or twenty acres to
the college. Prior residences of the family had been Presbyterian
manses. In the town cemetery there is a plot where some members
of the Glasgow family are interred.
Susan Humphries Hillhouse, the mother,
was born November 12, 1832; married the Reverend L.K. Glasgow
of Newberry Co., SC on December 12, 1860 at "Shady Grove"
the Hillhouse plantation in Pendleton District.
24. Charles Wesley Hillhouse was born
December 8, 1861, the son of Richard Henry and Georgia Amanda
He married Ella Hancock, March 8, 1883.
Six children were born to them: Endora, Henry Bryan, John Grover,
William Floyd, Georgia Irine, and Roy McPhaul.
Charles Wesley was a leading citizen
and developer of Sylvester, Georgia and Worth County, and a member
of the Baptist church. For several years he represented the County
in the State House of Representatives, was appointed by the Governor
as a member of the United States Commission to Europe to Study
Rural Credits and Marketing (1913). The Commission's report became
the Congressional basis for establishing the Federal Land Bank
Later he made a six months' tour in
Europe; dined on this trip with Professor Percy A. Hillhouse,
naval architect of Glasgow, Scotland.
One son, John Grover, was a lieutenant
in the Army's air force in 1918. While training pilots at Detroit,
his plane developed engine trouble and crashed. He died several
days later, November 1918, not married.
A separate sketch appears herein on
Roy McPhaul Hillhouse, the younger son.
Charles Wesley died July 10, 1930. Biographical
sketches may be found in Men of Mark in Georgia; Who's Who In
the South (1926 ed.); and Who's Who in Finance, Banking and Insurance
(1933-35), H.B. Joseph, Publisher, Philadelphia.
25. John Henry Hillhouse was born September
14, 1864, at Cuthbert, GA, the son of Richard Henry and Georgia
Amanda (Roper) Hillhouse.
He married, first, Orrie Louisa Castellow
of Eufaula, AL on November 4, 1886 (she was born April 20, 1865).
After her death (October 3, 1931), he married, second, (on June
6, 1932), Mrs. Ida Mae Burns of Charlotte, NC.
Of the first marriage nine children
were born: Anne Kathleen, Charles Henry, Lucy Amanda, Frank Broadus,
Grace Kate, John Castellow, Orrie Claire, William Wright, and
The family lived first at Tifton, GA,
later at Sylvester.
One son, Frank Froadus, graduated from
the United States Naval Academy in 1917, was commissioned an
Ensign and saw service in World War I. In November 1919 he became
a 1st Lieutenant on the USS North Dakota. He died in Honolulu,
May 3, 1938.
The older son, Charles Henry, married
Floy Belle Pitman of Layfayette, GA in 1916. Two sons were born
to them: Charles H. Jr., a graduate of West Point and a well-known
aviator in World War II; and John Robert, who died young. Charles
H. Jr. is listed in General Cullum's Biographical Register of
the Officers and Graduates of the United States Military Academy,
Vol. VIII Supplement, 1930-40, No. 11435.
A biographical sketch of John Henry
Hillhouse appears in Who's Who In Finance, Banking and Insurance
(1933-35), H.B. Joseph, Publisher, Philadelphia.
26. The Reverend Joseph Newton Hillhouse
was born January 29, 1891 at Cartersville, GA, son of the Rev.
James Steele and Belle (Boaz) Hillhouse. He was educated at Davidson
College (two years, 1909-11) and Princeton University, where
He saw overseas service during World
War I in France with A. Co., 1st Reg. Engineers and became an
official AEF photographer. After the war he completed his theological
training at Princeton Theological Seminary.
He married on February 18, 1914 Virginia
Smith of Beaumont, TX. Two sons were born: Joseph Newton, Jr.
and William Laurens. The former graduated at Princeton University,
June 1938, and entered the Seminary; he is married and has two
sons, David and Laurens.
The Reverend Joseph Newton has held
pastorates at the Desert Mission, some eight miles from Phoenix,
AZ, which serves an area for tubercular patients; at Fairplay,
CO; and later at Columbia State Park, CA. The First Presbyterian
Church of Columbia State Park was founded over 100 years ago
in a booming Gold Rush community and is one of the West's most
historical Presbyterian churches. The old copper church bell
was brought around Cape Horn to California prior to 1852. See
the Presbyterian Life, July 9, 1949 and July 22, 1950. His work
at the Arizona desert mission is told in Christian Burton, The
Story of the Desert Mission at Sunny Slope, Hubbard Printing
Co., Phoenix, 99 pp.
27. Esther Love Hillhouse Sartorio was
born August 31, 1920 at Abbeville, SC, the only child of the
Reverend Joseph Bienaime Jr. and Jean (Culbertson) Hillhouse.
She was educated at the Fassifern School
for Girls, Hendersonville, NC; Queens College (Charlotte, NC)
and Agnes Scott College; AB degree, 1942. She married on August
24, 1944 the Reverend Paul L. Sartorio, Methodist minister. They
have one son, Paul Laurens, born on July 3, 1945 at Lindenhurst,
Long Island, NY.
The Reverend Sartorio was born July
22, 1921 in Brooklyn, NY, the son of Antonio Sartorio and Fillamino
di Taranto. He was educated at the Bryant High School, DePauw
University (AB, 1942), and the Yale Divinity School, BD degree,
1944. His pastorates have included the Grace Methodist Church,
Lindenhurst, NY; First Methodist Church, Hollis, NY; and the
Grace Methodist Church, Valley Stream, NY. He has recently supervised
the construction of a fine new church building at Valley Stream.
28. Marguerite Hillhouse was born April
9, 1908 at Abbeville, SC, the youngest child of John Peter Hillhouse,
Jr. and Lula McFall (daughter of Dr. James Thomson and Lou Jane
Burris McFall), and a granddaughter of Dr. John Peter Hillhouse
of Paris Mountain and Greenville, SC.
Marguerite graduated at Converse College,
AB 1929. She has been in college administrative work since 1931,
serving as Secretary to the President, an Assistant Registrar,
and later, Registrar, all of Mary Baldwin College, Staunton,
Virginia. In 1945 and 1946 she was Secretary and President (respectively)
of the Virginia Association of Collegiate Registrars.
Her sister, Lula Henrietta Hillhouse,
also graduated at Converse College, is a musician and teacher
in Greenville, SC.
An interesting sketch of their grandparents,
Dr. Peter and Harriet D. (Foster) Hillhouse, appears at pages
274-75 in The History of South Carolina by David Duncan Wallace,
Vol. IV "Biographical Volume," The American Historical
Society, Inc., New York, 1934, under Lawrence Petigru Hillhouse,
their uncle. Other family history may be found in A.G. Gower,
A Short History of Presbyterian Church Life in Greenville, 1848-1923,
at pp. 6, 7, 8, 20, 22, 26-27, 33, 46 and 47. The Greenville
(SC) City and County Directory of 1883-84, and also of 1888,
list their grandmother, then a widow, as residing at 38 John
Street ("northwest corner of John Street, 1 block w A. St"),
and their father, John Peter Jr., who was then a young man, as
"working at the R & D depot."
A biographical sketch of Marguerite
appears in Leaders In Education (3rd ed.), The Science Press,
1948, Lancaster, PA.
29. Lola Anderson Dennis, eldest daughter
of Colonel Albert W. and Martha Ann (Hillhouse) Anderson, was
born November 23, 1886 at Laurens, SC. She was educated at Randolph-Macon
Woman's College and Cornell University. Prepared for college
at the Tubman High School, Augusta, GA.
As a landscape architect, her concentration
at Cornell, she worked both as a consultant to the city of Kingsport,
TN and as manager of the Kingsport Nurseries. The newspapers
of the period testify to her skill and her valuable contributions
toward the beautification and planning of this model and rapidly
growing industrial center. On October 26, 1929 she married John
Bartlett Dennis, financier of New York City, who was one of the
developers of modern Kingsport and of new industries there.
During his lifetime, Lola and John maintained
three homes: at Oyster Bay, LI, Kingsport, and Biltmore, NC.
The one at Kingsport "Rotherwood" commanded a magnificent
view of the Holston River. After his death on February 12, 1947,
the first two residences were sold and Lola made her home at
Biltmore. Her flower gardening has been her main hobby the year
round and her garden is a show place.
John B. Dennis was born March 4, 1866
at Gardiner, Maine, the son of David Dennis, president of the
Merchants National Bank of Gardiner, and Julia Bartlett Dennis,
and was a descendant of the 1688 English settler at Ipswich,
MA. After three years at Cornell University he transferred to
Columbia where he received his AB in 1887. Three years later
he joined Blair & Co., investment bankers and was partner
in this firm for 25 years until its dissolution in 1920. During
these years he had a large hand in the firm's many banking, promotional
and reorganization activities and in making Blair & Co. a
world famous banking house. Among other activities he was the
guiding spirit in the building of the Carolina, Clinchfield and
Ohio Railway and in the development of the Southwest Virginia
One of Mr. Dennis' chief interests during
the last twenty years of his life was the development of Kingsport,
TN. He was the leader in establishment of the Kingsport Press,
one of the largest printing and publishing companies in the United
States. During these years, he was chairman of the board and
director of the Kingsport Press; director of the Pennsylvania-Dixie
Cement Corp.; chairman of the board, president and director of
the Carolina, Clinchfield & Ohio Railway; and president and
chairman of the board of the Securities Company, 1 East 57th
Street, an investment company (New York City). He belonged to
several clubs: Metropolitan, Racquet and Tennis, Turf and Field,
City Midday, and Cornell in New York City, and the Piping Rock
Club of Locust Valley, LI. He was also a member of scientific
and charitable organizations. One of his hobbies was the development
of a large farm near Kingsport where he built up and maintained
of the finest herds of Jersey cattle in the South.
Sketches of him appear in Poor's Register
of Directors of the United States and Canada (1935); the Kingsport
Times (February 13, 1947); and The New York Times (February 13,
30. Virginia Anderson Page, the second
daughter of Colonel Albert W. and Martha Ann (Hillhouse) Anderson,
was born October 25, 1888 at Laurens, SC. She was educated at
Randolph-Macon Woman's College, having prepared for college at
Tubman High School, Augusta, GA.
On June 3, 1914, she married in the
First Presbyterian Church of Augusta Dr. Hugh Nelson Page of
Norfolk, VA. He was born May 15, 1882, the son of Hugh Nelson
and Sallie (Newton) Page; was educated at Woodberry Forest, the
University of Virginia, and the University of Virginia Medical
School. Dr. Page was a distinguished professor of medicine and
a surgeon. He served in four New York City hospitals, first as
intern and then as house surgeon, before going to the University
of Mississippi Medical College as Professor of Anatomy. In 1911
he was made Professor of Anatomy, and later also of Histology
and Embryology, at the University of Georgia School of Medicine,
a post which he held for 10 years. He entered private practice
in 1921 as one of the founders of the Savannah Valley Clinic,
but continued his connection with the Medical School as an Associate
Professor of Orthopedic Surgery. He was chief surgeon of the
Charleston and Western Carolina Railroad, and local Surgeon of
the Atlantic Coast Line Railroad.
The family lived in North Augusta, SC,
on the "Hill" in Augusta, and later at Asheville, NC.
Dr. Page died on March 6, 1940, and is interred at Westover Memorial
Park, Augusta. Of this marriage four children were born:
Virginia Page (b. October 28, 1915 at
Augusta) was educated at Tubman High School and the Junior College
of Augusta. Virginia married, first, on June 8, 1935 at the First
Presbyterian Church of Augusta, Philip Kay Stead (born November
3, 1907 at Leeds, England), the son of Charles Frederick and
Emily (Kay) Stead. During World War II he served in the RAF,
attaining the rank of Wing Commander. After the War he was the
governing director and owner of the leather manufacturing firm
established by his father. There were two children of this marriage:
Jacquelin Virginia (born April 12, 1940 at Stockton-on-Tees,
County Durham, England) and Sallie Darragh (born July 15, 1945
at St. Andrews, Fife County, Scotland). Virginia Page married,
for the second time, on November 17, 1956 at Asheville, Donald
Eugene Remer (born October 5, 1907 at Ansonia, CT), the son of
Charles Eugene and Josephine (Ballance) Remer. He holds the BS
degree in Electrical Engineering, Yale University, 1929. There
are no children of this marriage. Virginia is interested in poetry
and community theater. As a young girl she published a poem entitled
"Grey," in Versecraft (1933 annual volume).
Hugh Nelson Page, Jr. (born August 7,
1918, d. June 8, 1920).
Nelson Page (born September 12, 1921
at Augusta) was educated at Richmond Academy, Augusta, the Georgia
School of Technology, and graduated from the University of North
Carolina with a degree in organic chemistry. He is presently
a chemist, and is also working on his dissertation for the Ph.D.
degree. During World War II he was a Lieutenant in the Air Force.
Nelson married on September 9, 1950 at Trinity Episcopal Church,
Asheville, Catherine Beekman Coxe (born May 27, 1929 at Asheville),
daughter of Tench Charles Coxe, Jr. and Frances Huger. Catherine
(Kitty) was educated at Chatham Hall and Sweetbrier College.
They have three children: Hugh Nelson (born October 10, 1950
at Asheville), Tench Coxe (born August 31, 1953 at Greensboro)
and Thomas Newton (born December 12, 1957 at Huntingdon, LI,
Albert Anderson Page (born October 9,
1926 at Augusta) was educated at Richmond Academy, Augusta and
North Carolina State College, and served in the US Army overseas
during World War II. He married on December 20, 1952 at Leeds,
England, Maria Erika Gersema (born July 12, 1930 at Shemnitz,
Saxony, Germany). They have two children: Erika Lola (born July
6, 1956 at Newport News, VA) and Virginia Louise (born January
23, 1958 at Newport News). Albert is an engineer with the United
31. Eloise Anderson Stuckle, the third
daughter of Col. Albert W. and Martha Ann (Hillhouse) Anderson,
was born December 20, 1890 at Greenville, SC. She was educated
at Converse College; her prepatory work was at Tileston High
School, Wilmington, NC.
She married on October 28, 1919, at
North Augusta, William Ferdinand Stuckle of Montclair, NJ. He
was born in Brooklyn on November 21, 1892, the son of Max and
Katherine (Meyer) Stuckle. He studied at the Montclair high school,
and at Cornell University, 1913-17; was a member of the Psi Upsilon
fraternity. Graduated AB, Cornell, 1917. From college he went
directly into the Army and served during World War I from July
1917 to April 1919. As a First Lieutenant in the Ordinance Corps,
107th Ordinance Depot Co., he became a machine gun instructor
at Camp Gordon, GA.
After the war and until his death in
1950 he was a successful coal broker in Philadelphia and New
York, and a member of the coal firm of Currie and Campbell. His
club memberships included the Cornell Club of New York and the
Racquet Club of Philadelphia. One of his major hobbies was Cornell
alumni activities in New Jersey, New York City and nationally.
He served as president of the Cornell Club of Essex County, NJ,
and was one of the founders of the Federation of Cornell Men's
Clubs, an organization which brought all of the alumni groups
in the United States together. He was elected the first President
of the Federation and was in office for two successive terms,
1945 to 1947. Cornell has recognized his services in a commemoration
plaque in Day Hall, the administration building.
William died on January 23, 1950 at
age 57 and is interred at Mount Hebron Cemetery, Montclair. Eloise
moved subsequently to Asheville in order to be near her sisters,
Lola and Virginia.
Anne Katherine Stuckle, their only child
(born December 7, 1924 at Montclair) was educated at Kimberly
School, Montclair, and graduated with an AB degree from Sweetbriar
College. She married on June 29, 1953 at Asheville, David Tullis
Houston (born July 20, 1909), the son of David Houston and Elizabeth
Black Tullis Cochran. He graduated in Civil Engineering from
MIT in 1930; was a member of Sigma Nu fraternity, and Tau Beta
Pi (honorary). He obtained a law degree from Rutgers Law School
in 1935. Anne and David Houston have one child, Anne Cochran,
born April 13, 1954 at Short Hills, NJ. His two children by a
previous marriage have been legally adopted by Anne. They are:
David Tullis, Jr. (born September 8, 1945) and Cynthia Allison
(born September 16, 1947).
32. Anne Anderson Braithwaite, the youngest
daughter of Colonel Albert W. and Martha Ann (Hillhouse) Anderson,
was born June 10, 1893 at Greenville, SC. She was educated at
Converse College, with preparatory work at Tileston High School,
She married on March 30, 1918, Albert
Newby Braithwaite of Leeds, England. They had four children:
Aland Newby, Denys Anderson, Robin Bruce Hillhouse, and Anne
Anderson Braithwaite. The family made their home in Berkshire
and Yorkshire, England.
Major Braithwaite, a member of Parliament,
was knighted in 1945 for his work in London and Washington during
World War II. From Who's Who (in the United Kingdom) 1944 and
1957, the following opposite sketch was made:
Braithwaite, Major Sir Albert Newby,
Knight, created 1945; DSO 1918; MP (Unionist) from Buckrose,
East Yorkshire, 1926-45; MP (Conservative) from Harrow West,
since 1951. Born September 2, 1893, the son of Albert Braithwaite
(at one time of the Lord Mayor of Leeds) and Patti (Newby) Braithwaite.
He was educated at the Woodhouse Grove School, Leeds Grammar
School, and Leeds University. Enlisted as a private soldier,
August 1914; commissioned in Yorkshire Hussars, January 1915;
served overseas two and a half years. During World War II he
was appointed a member of the British Military Commission to
the USA. Director: Guardian Eastern Insurance Co., Sir Lindsay
Parkinson & Co., Ltd., Oddenino's Hotel & Restaurant
Ltd., Porex Ltd., Huddersfield Colleries, Ltd., Great Western
Trust, Ltd., Essex Brick Co., Ltd., Geyer Ltd., Hampshire Brick
Co., Ltd., Sterling Engineering co., Ltd., Hampshire Brick Co.,
Ltd., Sterling Engineering Co., Ltd., Lime - Sand Motar, Ltd.,
and Farnham Stone Co., Ltd. Address in 1944, Swinley Hurst, Ascot,
Berkshire; in 1957, Whernside Manor, Dent, West Yorkshire, and
Coxland, Ewhurst, Surrey. Club: Carlton.
Anne died on March 15, 1950 and is interred
in Bridlington Church, Bridlington, Yorkshire, England.
Aland Newby and his wife, Julie, live
in Caracas, Venezuela where he has business interests.
Denys is married, has two children,
and lives in England.
Robin Bruce married Susannah Crenshaw
Wilcox of Augusta. They have four children.
Anne Anderson is married, has two children,
and lives in France.
33. Martha Ruth Hillhouse, eldest child
of William Chambers and Nell (Thomas) Hillhouse, was born May
19, 1898 at Waynesboro, Georgia.
She was educated at the Waynesboro High
School, Agnes Scott College (one year), Georgia State Normal
College, and Teachers College, Columbia University (BS degree,
She taught first in the Waynesboro public
schools, and after Teachers College at the Maryland State Teacher's
College (Towson, MD) and East Carolina College (Greenville, NC).
Upon decision to enter religious education work, Ruth enrolled
at the Assembly Training School for Lay Workers at Richmond,
VA, graduating in 1928. Later, when the Training School became
a graduate school, she returned and earned the Master of Religious
Education degree (1936).
In her chosen field she has been the
student worker at three college churches: the Oakland Avenue
Presbyterian Church, Rock Hill, SC; the First Presbyterian Church,
Greenville, NC; and the First Presbyterian Church, Columbus,
MS. She has also served as the Director of Religious Education
at the First Presbyterian Church, Montgomery, AL; the First Presbyterian
Church, Florence, SC; and the First Presbyterian Church, Charlottesville,
In June 1954 she became field representative
for the Board of Women's Work of the Presbyterian Church, US
traveling throughout the Assembly whenever her services are requested.
An interesting article by her appears in the Presbyterian Survey,
November 1956 under the title, "From the Diary of a 'Traveling
Ruth owns her own home in Hendersonville,
NC, but since she is always on the go in her work, she makes
the family home at Waynesboro her base.
34. William Charles Hillhouse, the elder
son, was born November 13, 1899 at Waynesboro, GA and studied
in the Waynesboro public schools.
Upon the outbreak of World War I, he
entered the Student Army Training Corps at Oglethorpe University
(Atlanta). When the war was over he continued his course at Oglethorpe,
graduating with the BS degree in 1921. Member of the Pi Kappa
After graduation he entered business
with his father in Waynesboro; became superintendent of the Sunday
School, First Presbyterian Church; a member of the Exchange Club;
and was elected Commander of the American Legion Post. He left
Waynesboro in 1933 to accept a position with the Tennessee Eastman
Corporation in Kingsport, TN.
He married on June 3, 1939 Thelma Bennett,
daughter of Clarence Amos and Bessie (Grundy) Bennett of Central
City, Kentucky. They have one daughter, Janice, born June 10,
In 1958 William completed 25 years of
continuous service with Tennessee Eastman and received a company
citation and award. He holds a supervisory position in the Quality
Control and Production Office.
The home which he owns is on a beautiful
residential street. Thelma is an accomplished pianist, and substitutes
as a music teacher; William is an enthusiastic gardener. All
the family are members of the First Presbyterian Church at Kingsport
where William has been a Deacon for fifteen years.
35. Albert Miller Hillhouse, the second
son of William Chambers and Nell (Thomas) Hillhouse, was born
December 8, 1902 at Waynesboro.
He studied at the Waynesboro public
schools; Davidson College (AB 1924); New York University Law
(JD 1930); University of North Carolina (MA econ 1931); and Northwestern
University (Ph.D. econ 1938). He was second honor graduate at
Davidson and third honor graduate in the law school. As an undergraduate
he was president of the Davidson student body. Member of Pi Kappa
Alpha, Omicron Delta Kappa, Phi Beta Kappa, and Phi Delta Phi
Married on February 15, 1937 Elizabeth
Mitchell Cheek of Danville, KY (born May 28, 1912, daughter of
the Reverend F. Powell Cheek, Professor at Lane Theological Seminary,
Cincinnati, and Sadie Taylor Cheek). Elizabeth is an AB graduate
of Centre College (Women's Department), with graduate work at
the University of Chicago and Cornell. At the time of their marriage
she was an instructor at Centre. They have two daughters, Helen
Tilford (born August 9, 1940, Charlotte, NC) and now a student
at Mount Holyoke College, and Margaret Loga, born April 16, 1944
at Washington, DC.
Dr. Hillhouse has been Professor of
Public Administration, Graduate School of Business and Public
Administration, Cornell University since 1952. Prior to this
appointment he was on the faculties of the Armour Institute of
Technology, Davidson College and the University of Cincinnati.
Consultant, and author of: Defaulted
Municipal Bonds; New Sources of Municipal Revenue; Municipal
Bonds, A Century of Experience; chapter on "Administrative
Measurement" in The Technique of Municipal Administration,
and articles on public finance and public administration. Co-author
of: Tax Limits Appraised; Local Government Debt Administration;
Tax-Reverted Properties in Urban Areas; Where Cities Get Their
Money, Supplement on Non-Property Taxes; Model Investment of
State Funds Law; and Governing Post-War Germany (Litchfield and
Member of the Presbyterian Church; advisory
board of The Federal Accountant and The Administrative Science
Quarterly; staff member, President's Commission on Intergovernmental
Relations; consultants' panel, Governmental Affairs Institute,
Washington, DC; member of the American Economic Association,
American Political Science Association, and American Society
for Public Administration.
Graduate of the School of Military Government,
Charlottesville, 1944. Chief of the Public Finance Branch, Austria;
later Germany, in Military Government and under the High Commissioner.
Chairman of the nine-man Tripartite Committee which wrote the
basic Occupation Costs Agreement between the three powers upon
establishment of the German Western Republic.
Biographical sketches in the Davidson
College Alumni Bulletin, May 1940; America's Young Men (Vol.
III); Directory of American Scholars (1942); Who's Who In the
East (1955); and American Men of Science (Vol. III).
36. Nell Hillhouse Baldwin was born
June 23, 1906 at Waynesboro, GA. After preparation in the Waynesboro
public schools, she entered Agnes Scott College, graduating with
the AB degree in 1928.
Nell has long been a successful social
science teacher in the public schools - at Crisp County (Cordele),
Colquit County (Moultrie), Fort Valley, and Waynesboro. In addition
to her college work, she has done post-graduate study at East
Carolina Teachers College (now East Carolina College), Georgia
State Teacher's College, and Cornell University. During World
War II she was Executive Secretary of the American Red Cross
On September 5, 1936 she married Charles
Baldwin of Fort Valley, the son of Nathaniel H. and Nell (James)
Baldwin. Charles was a student at Mercer University where he
was a member of the Sigma Nu fraternity. He shifted his business
interests to Waynesboro in 1944 following the serious illness
of his father-in-law and need there for his help.
In 1957 the Senior Class at the Waynesboro
High School dedicated their yearbook to Nell with the following
Because of her achievements in her profession:
Because of her rich, warm personality,
her humor, her qualities of sympathy and understanding:
Because of her ideals which she inspires:
We dedicate the 1957 Hurricane to .
Nell was also selected in 1957 as Burke
County's "Teacher of the Year," having previously been
elected to a similar honor in the Waynesboro High School by her
fellow faculty members. In recent years she has interested herself
in local history, and is co-author of An Intelligent Student's
Guide to Burke County (GA) History (1956); has also served on
the Georgia State Textbook Selection Committee.
In the First Presbyterian Church of
Waynesboro, she has for fourteen years taught a Sunday School
37. Katherine Roberta Hillhouse Goss,
the youngest child of William Chambers and Nell (Thomas) Hillhouse,
was born August 3, 1911 at Waynesboro.
She studied at the Waynesboro public
schools, the Waynesboro Junior College, and Wesleyan College
(Macon), AB Wesleyan 1932.
On July 5, 1935 she married the Reverend
Mack Nashburn Goss, the son of General Washington and Mary Elizabeth
(Nashburn) Goss of Cherokee County, GA. Mack graduated from the
Canton (GA) High School and Mercer University, AB 1932. His theological
training was at the Andover Newton Theological School (Newton
Centre, MA), BD 1934; and his post-graduate work at Columbia
and the University of Chicago. They have two children, William
Miller (born March 3, 1941) and Mary Nell (born May 13, 1945).
The family has lived at Walhalla, SC;
Summerville, SC; Hartsville, SC; and Hendersonville, NC where
the Reverend Goss held pastorates. Since 1951 he has been the
pastor of First Baptist Church of Hendersonville. Katherine teaches
in the nearby Flat Rock High School. They now own their own home
on Balsam Road in Hendersonville.
While in South Carolina the Reverend
Goss served for ten years as a member of the Board of Trustees
of the Connie Maxwell Children's Home; for two years as Pastor-advisor
of the Baptist Student Union; and as a member of the committee
which recommended the removal of Furman University to a new location
north of the city of Greenville. At Hartsville he led in the
1950 Centennial Celebration of the Hartsville Church. The history
of the Hartsville church, written for that occasion, received
Convention-wide recognition through the Baptist Historical Commission
as a model history. On various occasions Mr. Goss served as speaker
at Furman University, The Citadel, Clemson College, Withrop,
Limestone, and Coker Colleges. He also contributed articles to
"The Builder," "Open Windows," and the "Training
While at Hendersonville his pastorate
has been characterized by constructive growth along all lines,
and especially by the construction of a beautiful new sanctuary
(dedicated in 1958). His contribution to denomination life is
not only local, but also state and Convention-wide. He has been
president of the local Pastors' conference and moderator of the
Carolina Association; has served on the Board of Trustees of
the North Carolina Baptist Children's Homes, the Historical Commission
of the North Carolina Baptist State Convention, the Relief and
Annuity Board of the Southern Baptist Convention, and on the
Board of Trustees of the North Carolina Baptist Hospital at Winston-Salem.
Notwithstanding his busy church life, he has also found time
for more than 20 years' service as a Rotarian.
38. Roy McPhaul Hillhouse was born May
15, 1897 at Sylvester, GA, the son of Charles Wesley and Mary
Ellen (Hancock) Hillhouse.
He graduated from the McPhaul Institute,
Sylvester, 1913; Georgia School of Technology, 1917-19. Married
Thelma Ione Price on August 22, 1921. One daughter, Theresa Claire
(Mrs. E.C. Harris).
Business man and banker of Sylvester
and Worth County. Owner of the Hillhouse Hardware Co. since 1921;
Hillhouse Farms near Sylvester since 1930; Vice-President and
director of the Sylvester Banking Co.; director of the Georgia,
Ashburn, Sylvester and Camilla RR; and director, worth County
Tobacco Warehouse Co. Member of the American Legion, Chamber
of Commerce, Masons, and the Baptist Church.
Biographical sketches appear in Who's
Who In Commerce and Industry (7th ed.); Poor's Register of Directors
and Executives (1957).
Alexander, John Brevard, Biographical
Sketches of the Early Settlers of the Hopewell
Section, Observer Printing and Publishing
House, Charlotte, 1897, 104 pp. (at page 79 for the Rev. LK Glasgow
and his high school).
Anderson, Albert W. (Col.), The Augusta
(GA) Chronicle, November 24, 1928
(editorial, "The New President
of the Charleston and Western Carolina Railway
Company"); February 3, 1930 (obituary
Baldwin, Nell H. and Hillhouse, A.M.,
An Intelligent Student's Guide to Burke County
(GA) History, published by authors,
Waynesboro, GA 1956. 202 pp.
Ball, William Watts, The State that
Forgot; South Carolina's Surrender to Democracy,
Bobbs-Merrill Co., Indianapolis, 1932,
Benoit, Daniel, Les Freres Gibert -
Deux Pasteurs Du Desert et Du Refuge (1722-1817),
Societe Des Livres Religieux, Toulouse,
Brackett, Richard Newman, The Old Stone
Church, Oconee County, South Carolina,
Columbia, 1905, pp. 40-41, 76, 78, 81,
85, 97-98, 116-117, 120, 129.
Carson, James Petigru, Life, Letters
and Speeches of James Louis Petigru, Washington,
DC, 1920, pp. 5-13, 342, 376.
Daughters of the American Revolution,
Historical Collections of the Joseph Habersham
Chapter, Vol. III, 1910, p. 91 (Cornwallis
Davidson College Bulletin (Alumni Journal),
May 1940 ("Dr. Hillhouse Leaves").
Dennis, John B., The New York Times,
February 13, 1947 (obituary).
Egle, William Henry, History of Dauphin
County, Everts & Peck, Philadelphia, 1883,
pp. 16, 23, 25, 31, 39, 76.
Egle, William Henry, Pennsylvania Genealogies,
Harrisburg Publishing co., 1897,
pp. 246-263 (Dickeys and Chambers).
Ervin, Sara Sullivan (ed.), South Carolinians
in the Revolution, Ypsilanti, MI, 1949,
186 pp. (at page 120, William Hillhouse
of Starksville, MS).
Gower, A.G., A Short History of Presbyterian
Life in Greenville (undated) (a history
of the First Presbyterian Church, 1848-1923),
Graham, (The Rev. ) John, A History
of the Siege of Londonderry, Saxton and Miles,
New York, 1844, p. 127 (lists Abraham
Grayson, William J., James Louis Petigru
- A Biographical Sketch, Harper, New York,
Hazelrigg, Charles Tabb, American Literary
Pioneer: A Biographical Study of James A.
Hillhouse, Bookan Associates, New York,
1953, 226 pp.
Hill, John C.G., Shipshape and Bristol
Fashion (2nd ed.), The Journal of Commerce and
Shipping Telegraph, Liverpool, (about
1950), 110 pp.
Hillhouse, A.M., The Miller, Polhill
and Other Families, September 1936, 101 pp.
(typewritten) (a copy in the Rhodes
Memorial Library, Atlanta, GA).
Hillhouse Family Bible (last known to
have been owned by a Cherokee County, GA
descendant of Samuel Hillhouse).
Hillhouse, Idelette, Hillhouse Kin Book
(a long-hand notebook) Rhodes Memorial
Library, Atlanta, 1936, 152 pp.
Hillhouse, Margaret Prouty, Historical
and Genealogical Collections Relating to the
Descendants of Rev. James Hillhouse,
Tobias A. Wright, New York, 1924,
Hillhouse, Ruth, "From the Diary
of a 'Traveling Salesman'", The Presbyterian Survey,
November 1956, pp. 16-17, 54.
Howe, George, History of the Presbyterian
Church in South Carolina (2 vols.), Columbia,
1883, Vol. II, pp. 282-83, 302, 378,
390-91, 397, 410, 746-47.
Jones, F.D. and Mills, W.H., History
of the Presbyterian Church in South Carolina Since
1850, R.L. Bryan Co., Columbia, 1926,
pp. 319, 400, 569, 576, 985-86,
998-99, 1012, 1013-15, 1017, 1028, 1039.
Kibler, Lillian Adele, Benjamin F. Perry,
South Carolina Unionist, Duke University Press,
1946, p. 331 (Dr. John Peter Hillhouse).
Linn, John Blair, Record of Pennsylvania
Marriages, Prior to 1810, Harrisburg, L.S. Hart
State Printer, 1880-90 (2 vols.), Vol.
I., p. 123 (Mary Hillhouse marries John
Lyon, Ralph M., "Moses Waddel and
the Willington Academy," North Carolina Historical
Review, Vol. VIII (July 1931), pp. 256-289.
Pendleton Farmers' Society, Foote &
Davies Co., Atlanta, 1908, 208 pp.
Salley, A.S., Jr., South Carolina Troops
In Confederate Service, Vol. II, Columbia, 1914,
pp. 676, 682.
Simpson, R.W., History of Old Pendleton
District, privately printed, Pendleton, SC, 1913,
pp. 12-13, 22-23, 42-43, 206-208.
Stevens, Sylvester K., Pennsylvania
- The Keystone State (Historical), American
Historical Company, Inc., New York,
1956, pp. 102-103.
Sweet, William Warren, Religion on the
American Frontier, Vol. II, The Presbyterians
1783-1840, Harpers, New York, 1936,
pp. 188, 778, 783.
Templeton, J. Dickey, Dickey Genealogy,
1918 (copy in State Historical Library, Forrest
Park, St. Louis, MO).
Terry, E.G.C., "A Huguenot Heroine
- Dame Ysabeau Gibert," DAR Magazine, Vol. 64,
No. 12, December 1930, pp. 731-737.
Waddel, John N., Memorials of Academic
Life - Through Three Generations, Presbyterian
Committee of Publication, Richmond (VA),
Wallace, David Duncan, South Carolina
- A Short History, 1520-1948, University of
North Carolina Press, 1951, pp. 458-459,
(Dr. Moses Waddel's Wellington).
White, Henry Alexander, Southern Presbyterian
Leaders, Neale Publishing Co., New
York, 1911, 467 pp. (at p. 246).